A handy tip for those with blister prone feet

A quick tip for those of you who suffer from sore heels, toes or soles of your feet when out walking (oh and full blown blisters too). Now this isnt new or radical and I am sure it has been spoken about on many outdoor forums and many blogs before me. What I can say is that since I have used the tip, I havent suffered at all with sore or blistered feet!

And the magic ingredient? Zinc oxide tape. Yes, you heard it here. Zinc oxide tape is the answer……well to blistered feet anyway. Joking aside, whenever I go for a walk come rain or shine, I always apply 2 strips of oxide tape to the back of my ankles. I am particularly prone to sore ankles on account of them being boney and awkward.

The science is that the back of the heel cup (in my case) rubs up and down on the oxide tape (since it is fixed) instead of my skin. Sounds simple but it does work. I normally use the “climbing” zinc oxide tape that climbers use to strap their fingers. This is far superior to anything in a chemists shop (remember the old style flesh coloured zinc oxide strips for making your own plasters?) and can be found in good independent outdoor shops (NOT shop chains).

Ok, got it? Good. You can have that one gratis. It is Monday after all

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A handy tip for those with blister prone feet

  1. Robin says:

    You’re on fire at the moment. I can’t keep up with the posts :)

    Another tip if you suffer from bruised toes is to use Superdrug gel toe protectors http://www.superdrug.com/superdrug/superdrug-toe-gel-protector/invt/506060/ very effective.

  2. alan.sloman says:

    On the other hand, you could just wear shoes that fit? :-)
    Just a tip, from someone who used to get appalling blisters but hasn’t had one since 1998 when he bought boots & shoes that fitted. :-)

    • backpackbrewer says:

      pfft! lol

      I wish that were true for me Alan :( Even well fittings shoes eventually hurt my poor delicate ankles! The tape is insurance against heel blisters. I dont really need it for when I wear the Montrail Streaks or CTCs as the heel cup and cushioning is perfect for me. I still wear the tape though. Just in case…… :)

  3. Carrie Z says:

    Interesting tip, I’ll have to try it this summer.

  4. Yasmine says:

    I am very blister-prone and tried that once, but it didn’t work for me. No matter how well fitted, I’ve never found a pair of walking boots that didn’t rub. My saviour has been inov8 (I wear Roclite 268 womens). They actually fit my odd-sized feet. I still get occasional blisters, but I can live with them. (I also buy a lot of compeed plasters). I even have a clean pair for everyday use.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Shame that it didnt work for you but the trick is to completely cover the heel from the ankle bone to the other ankle bone and ensure no skin is left exposed to the material of the shoe’s heel cup.
      Funny how the Inov8s work for some people but not for others. For me its like put my feet in a blender when I wear them :(

Leave a Reply

