Hard winter ride up the Tumble!

Keeper's Pond

It was wet, windy and misty but all in all a very nice ride up one of the hardest cycle climbs in South Wales today. When I say misty, I mean very misty!

The top of the Tumble in the mist

30 miles cycled with 2300feet of climb including the Tumble Mountain itself (450metres high). I even managed to try try out my new saddle…pure luxury. Apparently I have wide sit bones hence the saddle choice. Some unkind folk might say I have a big bum :)

New saddle

A great ride but awful weather….must be mad :D

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
Image | This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hard winter ride up the Tumble!

  1. McEff says:

    I bought an old Young’s road bike off my mate a couple of years ago. He’d had it built for him by Young’s in London about 30 years ago and it still had the original razor-sharp hard leather saddle. I couldn’t cope with that at all. It was like sitting on an iron bar. So I can empathise with you here. A man needs a happy backside.
    Cheers, Alen

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      absolutely Alen

      I can remember my first racer when I was a lad….made of solid plastic and before I discovered padded shorts!
      :)

  2. PhilR says:

    Brave man, definite Rule #9 points there.

  3. Rather you than me! Well done though – and it must’ve done you good. Don’t you appreciate a warm house and a hot coffee after something like this?

  4. I guess foggy weather is not the best for cycling, but the pictures look magnificent. I like foggy, wet weather, so I am a bit jealous of you for your trip :)

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      To be honest Peter, I dont mind what the weather is as long as I am out and about. Apparently there is no such thing as bad weather only bad equipment to cope with the weather :)

Leave a Reply

