What do you think of the new layout?

As per the title, I have changed the look of my blog and am looking for opinions as to whether it works or not. I am a reasonably inept WordPress user and can never work out how to change font size or column width so always borrow someone else’s design. I liked this new layout because it reminds me a bit of PTC’s excellent blog site and I think it shows up the pictures slightly better than the last one.

edit/update 13/07/09

Of course, I tried the new layout and it looked good apart from the fact the text was too small and I couldnt alter it. Therefore, being defeated temporarily, I have reverted back to the original layout……..

edit no 2 10/10/2010

decided to try again with a new look….comments?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What do you think of the new layout?

  1. Martin Rye says:

    It makes a fine looking blog and good to see you are planning walks and blogging.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Martin, thanks for the kind words. I have been too idle on my blog for one reason or another. I am determined to do more this summer and actually do some reviews, walk write ups and the like. Looking around all the other outdoors bloggers I feel very inadequate! 🙂

  2. alan.sloman says:

    Hi there

    This is a fairly standard suggestion from me – I always have difficulty with small body text – and I could do with your font size being incresed a tad? It would help me enormously!

    Many thanks – Like the content a lot, so make it easy for an old git like me to read please! Also- the black background on your commetn box makes it difficult to see where your cursor is too! Sounds like a complete whinge! Sorry about that!

  3. GeoffC says:

    Just one thing: the font is far too small. Even with my reading glasses and squinting, I’m finding it hard to type this.
    I have my browser default font size so that virtually every website is easy to read, but not this one!.
    Remember that Internet Explorer displays fonts significantly bigger than proper standards-compliant browsers.

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Alan,

    no worries, comments on the layout are what I am after to ensure I make my blog as accessible as possible to all and sundry

    I’ll have a go at increasing the font size. I happen to think you are right about it. It does look a tad small. Lets see if I can manage this simple task! 🙂

  5. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Geoff,

    just seen your comment after typing a reply to Alan. It appears that changing a preset theme is nigh on impossible. I will have a look to see if there is an alternative but similar layout I can use…..

  6. backpackbrewer says:

    right. I have switched back to my original layout until I can figure out how to create my own look or just accept the templates on offer and find the “best fit”

    cheers, Dave

  7. alan.sloman says:

    Good luck with it Dave – if you need techie help a great place to find it is over at the Outdoor Bloggers Forum. I found Duncan (Aktoman) to be amazingly helpful!

    Cheers

    Alan

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks very much for that tip Alan,

      I probably will tap up Duncan for assistance

      cheers, Dave

  8. GeoffC says:

    My own blog is WordPress based and I can very easily change all aspects of the presentation, the font size is one of the easiest to control. However your blog is hosted on WordPress itself, I’m not sure how easy it is in that case – it depends whether they allow you to access and change the CSS files.

  9. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Geoff,

    having read the help pages on wordpress, it seems that if you use a themed appearance, you cant change the font size unless you do it manually for all posts page by page or buy a CSS upgrade. I have to admit, I am at the end of my expertise here….which is pretty limited hence chosing a themed appearance already available for use….. 😦

Leave a Reply

