New projects……

Ok,

so I’m back blogging and I’ve also done a fair amount of walking this year too. With any luck a change in job will allow me to do more solo camping as well. I am currently awaiting the outcome of a series of interviews for my present company that, if successful, will allow me to work from home permanently. If this happens then I will have much less restrictions in being able to disappear into the hills for a couple of days at a time.

In preparation for this possible turn of events I am reviewing my kit and seeing what I can sell on and also what I may still need. I have narrowed my list of “wants” down to a new tarp, a new pair of trail shoes and a new pair of walking trousers.

The tarp is kind of sorted already. I have bought a “Ray Way” tarp kit from Ray Jardine. Its uses 1.3 ounce per yard silnylon which should give a very light tarp with maximum coverage. The kit allows you to produce a tarp with beaks, lifters and a ridgeline so i am looking froward to making it. Trouble is, I havent done anything like this before so it should be interesting to make

For the trail shoes I am looking to get a pair of Montrail Streaks, as reviewed by PTC on his excellent blog. I love Montrail shoes as they do half sizes and they fit me really well. I have tried other shoes and nothing comes close for me.

With regards to the trousers, I havent got a clue currently. I want a pair of trousers that will cope with all but deepest winter conditions but am finding it difficult on account of my sizing. I am a 32inch waist but with 29inch inside leg. That makes it really difficult to find a good fit. i have tried Montane’s range of trousers but they just dont feel comfy. I will have to have a look around but for now I will stay with my trusty if a little unflashy craghoppers.

Anyway, more musings to come I suspect

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New projects……

  1. blogpackinglight says:

    Just ordered some Streaks! Craghopper stuff is surprisingly good. I have short legs as well. You might find Mountain Harwear fit. I have an old pair of Packpants, which are very good.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    thanks for the tip about the mountain hardwear trousers, I’ll have a shufties next time I get chance and I am definitely on the verge of ordering the Streaks!

    Dave

    and ps thanks John

Leave a Reply

