An OM mini-meet……return to Mynydd Du

Not this weekend but the weekend after, there is a proposed Outdoors Magic inspired mini-meet in the Western Brecon Beacons. Great says I. A chance to catch up with people including some local aquintances like Roman expert/historian Kate Gilliver. Should be fun. The intention is to camp on a normal campsite on the Friday but with a possibility of a wildcamp on the Saturday night. I’m up for that apart from the fact that it will be almost in exactly the same place as the oft feted mini-meet I went to in November that nearly destroyed my tent……

Mynydd Du Escarpment

Mynydd Du Escarpment

On a good day, the Western Beacons are truly wild and magnificent. I am hoping for a bit of that for once. My track record for weather in that area of the Beacons isnt good! Of course this means that I will have to have a look at my kit list, the weather forecast and a decision to be made whether to go with the tarp or the tent. Normally in company, I opt for the tent, partially out of privacy reasons but mostly to avoid any potential mishaps that mean I look foolish whilst attempting to pitch my tarp ……..!

Having ordered the Streaks today, I may have to get a few more bits and bobs ready for that weekend including a couple of beers for the Friday. I am looking forward to it and of course will take the camera and do a full write up, whatever transpires………

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

