Random Thoughts…

Well,

been a busy last few days. Wife disappeared with a gaggle of friends for the weekend leaving me in charge of the kids…or possibly leaving them in charge of me. Unfortunately the weather wasnt really conducive to a nice outdoor stroll with them so had to settle for a trip to the local play barn followed by the swimming pool and a trip to the cinema the following day. Fun was had by all and I did manage to read through a couple of my old Cicerone guide books for walks in the Beacons. The weekend coming up has now shifted to the central beacons area so I wont be able to do the wild and woolly west this time but reading the guide books has re-wetted my appetite for doing the lesser hills there.

Ok, so kit lists…..went over what I am going to take this weekend and as long as its not absolutely hissing it down, I may take the tarp/bivvy combo and aim for the sub 4kg pack weight. What I cant remember about pack weights is whether you include water in that calculation or not…? Ah well doesnt matter. Since its summer (ish), I want to see how low a weight I can manage whilst still remaining comfortable. The Golite ultra and the neoair will be coming out to play along with the cuben fibre minitarp and MLD soul bivvy. Add to that the the Caldera cone cookset and a few bits and bobs of outerwear and i may be able to squeeze it into the 20L pack….maybe

Anyway, I shall report on the success or otherwise soon enough. The weather forecast looks pish for the Friday but quite good for the Saturday. Friday will almost certainly be spent on a low level campsite but hoping for a wildcamp on the saturday night. We shall see

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Thoughts…

  1. Richard says:

    Sub 4kg for a weekend is impressive (I don’t think water counts by the way) I’ll be interested to hear how you get on as I’m casually thinking about tarps.

    Hope the weather plays ball. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dave Hanlon says:

    Dave, Dave here. Whats this I read? Air mat quandry behind you already? Stumped up for a Neo-Air? You didn’t tell us all. Sneaky.

  3. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Richard,

    I always get confused by what’s included in weight calculations ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ll report back with a proper kit list and weights as well as how I got on in due course

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    Dave,

    err….ooh….arr…..yes. I did get the neoair in the end. It was on offer in the outdoorshop and so couldnt resist. On balance it appeared to offer the best overall solution to my lightweight summer kit bag. I may still get the Thermo ether6 at a later date ………. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

