Oh dear – my phone is no more

Having extolled the virtues of my Nokia N95 in an earlier post, I have since discovered 2 things: a) it is not waterproof, at all, in the slightest, not even a tincy wincy bit…….. and b) I cant seem to be able to get the same phone as a replacement for my elegant but quite useless expensive paperweight.

Yes, my phone is no more. It has ceased to be. It is an ex phone. I am more gutted by the fact it has loads of photos on it especially of the beacons meet this weekend just gone. I will have to see if someone cleverer* than me can extract the pictures from the rotting corpse that was my pride and joy…….

(* ie 99% of the population)

Ah well, every cloud has a silver lining……I get to choose a new phone!

🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh dear – my phone is no more

  1. Marcus says:

    Hi Dave,

    I had (well still have but now redundant) the Nokia N82 which has this very problem. Take it out to snap a photo in even the lightest rain it will play up. Even worse, if left in a cold tent overnight it will assume the task of a household sponge and soak up the moisture. I resorted to putting in a home-made waterproof ziplock which works fine until you want a photo.

    Its a real shame because they really are functional little phones. My new E71 held up much better in this weekend’s downpour though so that’s a benefit and battery life was positively endless in comparison to the N82.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    I loved my Nokia!

    The trouble I had with mine was the mistake I made of putting the phone in my waterproof jacket pocket thinking it would be safe outside of a zip-lock bag. Nope…….wont make that mistake again in a hurry.

    would still get another Nokia if only for the fact that the camera I had was a 5MP Carl Zeiss lens and took rather good shots

  3. GeoffC says:

    That’s bad news, are the photos in the internal memory of the phone or on an SD card?. I know very little about mobile phones (except the very simplest like mine that only make and receive calls), I don’t know how you normally extract the photos to your PC.
    One of my readers had an SD card full of photos that were deemed unrecoverable but I managed to recover 99% of them.

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    its on internal memory so i suspect it may be a fallorn hope of retrieving the pictures. Still I will ask about to see if i can find a clever chappy or chappyess

Leave a Reply

