A Change of Scenery

Things change all the time. Look at the weather today. Blazing sun one minute, hammering down with rain the next. Life’s a bit like that too only normally these changes are spread over time. And no I am not about to launch into a Forrest Gump type speech. Its just that the last 5 days have been very eventful indeed

I have been working away from home since last year because I was made redundant and a well paid job came up and basically I didnt have much (ie any other) option at the time. Being away from the kids during the week has been really tough and so one of the reasons why I have found it difficult to do quality hill time is because of my desire to maximise my family time at the weekends.

Imagine my utter beffuddlement (is that a good word for scrabble?) when I am approached by a company by telephone, invited for an interview and then offered a job within the space of 5 days. The new job is based 45mins away from my family home in South Wales and is very comparable to what I am doing now. Its still not quite sunk in that I can go home, to my family, to my friends. I told my daughter on the phone and she understood and was happy in a squeally-pig type way. I told my son who is a little older and all he could say over and over was “oh” (pause), “oh” (pause), “oh”. Until that exact moment I knew how much being away during the week had affected us all but right there and then it really hit home. Between the eyes and into my heart.

I am going home

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Change of Scenery

  1. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of going home after a long time away.

    I felt it after my travels around OZ/NZ. My distance wasn’t forced upon me so I cant imagine how happy you must be

    :O)

  2. Martin Rye says:

    Nice to hear of some good news.

  3. Old Winter says:

    That is really great news for you and family.

  4. Dave Hanlon says:

    A glimmer of good news in these dark times. Great stuff. Can imagine how hard it is to leave the kids behind at the start of every working week.

  5. holdfast says:

    Amen to this post! Things are changing for me too, and not just the weather. The summer started out carefree, hot and sunny (and in the land of the midnight sun that can get a little too much when you can still get sun burn at 20.30 and it never gets dark). Now the ‘summer’ is dark, cold and wet in more ways than one.

    Roll with the punches.

  6. Richard says:

    Thats great news. 🙂

  7. Phil W says:

    Great news! I had to work from home in the past following redundancy so I can really feel for you.

  8. john hee says:

    Been there, done that

    Its not until you stop doing it that it really hits home, so expect a period of resettling with family dynamics for a few months.

    But good news at last
    😉

  9. backpackbrewer says:

    thanks very much for the kind comments guys. Much appreciated. It’s funny though. This week things have been going wrong at work and I’m cheerful and sunny and its driving everyone else nuts!

  10. GeoffC says:

    That’s tremendous news, and bucks the trend in these hard times – what a relief.
    I can only imagine what it’s like ducking and weaving with different jobs and employers, makes me realise how lucky I was in surviving with one employer for life – that concept is disappearing rapidly.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks Geoff. Yes it is a relief and I didnt honestly think I would get something at this time but strange things do happen

Leave a Reply

