A whisper of news from Henry…..

News just in………

I have received an email from Henry Shires at Tarptent.com

After much hinting by Martin Rye, I decided to email Henry about the rumour that he would be doing a longer cut fly for the Scarp 1. Today Henry emailed me to say that he would indeed be doing this for the Scarp sometime later in the year. Personally I cant wait πŸ™‚

Edited to add the email response from Henry himself:

Hi Dave, Yes, we’ll be doing another production run this Fall and the Scarp 1 fly will go lower. I haven’t time to work on it yet but that that feature is on the list of improvements.

Henry Shires Tarptent

12213 Koswyn Ct. Nevada City,

CA 95959 USA

ph: 650-587-1548 fax: 801-459-9526

e-mail: info@tarptent.com web: http://www.tarptent.com

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A whisper of news from Henry…..

  1. Richard says:

    Thats interesting, there seems to be a fair few people who are interested in the Scarp but the high cut fly puts them off.

  2. blogpackinglight says:

    Very interesting. The flysheet gap was the main thing that put me off the Scarp. The Scarp looks like a real competitor for the Comp and Akto.

  3. Pingback: Competition hotting up « blogpackinglight

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    Yes, it is good news. As per the amended post above, Henry is looking to do this sometime in the Autumn. Well, I dont know about you guys but in my Calendar that isnt far away!

    Oh and whilst we are at it. Thanks again to Martin Rye for pointing this snippet out to me and thanks to Henry Shires himself for listening to his customers.

  5. Hendrik M says:

    Sounds good, though I am also happy with my current Scarp 1 =)

  6. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Hendrik,

    to be honest, I think the Scarp is a really nice tent as it is. I guess for me I would like the option of the low cut fly for the depths of winter.
    Its potentially going down the route of Big Sky International tents

    eg
    for summer, high cut fly and single pole
    winter, low cut fly and additional cross poles

    could turn into a very versatile modular tent indeed

  7. backpackingbongos says:

    Oh no I wish you had not told me that – I will now have to hide my credit card!

  8. backpackbrewer says:

    um….me too =:-O

    there again, since I have been umming and arring over this tent since its release, I guess I can safely say i havent impulse-bought this time around!

    πŸ™‚

  9. Hendrik M says:

    For the winter I would just build a snow wall around the tent, which should solve the Problem of the high fly and missing snow flaps. However, so far this is just theory from me, as I haven’t yet slept in the tent – just got it on Friday πŸ˜‰ I hope to take it for a sleep over next week, if I got time.

  10. backpackbrewer says:

    Hendrik, the scarp is a fine tent and the slightly high cut fly is only a potential problem for windblown spindrift so 95% of the time will be fine.
    Be sure to write up your first trip with the tent mind, I am still keen to get as many opinions of it as possible

Leave a Reply

