The Approach of Autumn

Am I the only person in the UK to think that as soon as we hit August we are practically in the Autumn? Sorry, I know this sounds daft but I have always thought this way. Of course the upside is that Autumn is my favourite time of the year. You can go walking in relatively mild conditions with relatively light evenings in relatively good weather (we always seem to get good Septembers and lousy July/Augusts).

Time for me to start planning a few trips I think. With my impending return to South Wales in September to start my new job it should ease the guilt pangs enough to allow me out and about on a few short camping trips. I am thinking of doing a wildcamp weekend in September with the kids and then a wildcamp without kids in October. The former will probably be the Black Mountains, the latter I am fancying Cader Idris and possibly the Rhinogs. The really bizzare thing is that I dont think I need any kit for a while, I am even tooled up ready for winter……

Half the fun is poring over maps, routes and kit lists and the anticipation.

Maybe I need to get out more

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Approach of Autumn

  1. You are not alone. I’m thinking about autumn and winter, too! I am ready for thunderstorm season (August) to be over.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    It seems to have rained an awful lot this summer (in the UK) so Im looking forward to the chance for some settled weather…….hopefully

  3. Martin Rye says:

    Roll on the falling of the leaves and frosty nights. Star filled dark sky and wrapped up in the Antifreeze Jacket enjoying it all.

  4. I’m with you on this one. The air feels just a little bit different from a few weeks ago, and already I am watching the sun set just a smidgen more to the south each day. Autumn’s on its way. Can’t wait.

  5. baz carter says:

    I prefer September and October for walking in this country. the day time temp is ideal for trotting along and the weather is generally settled.

    The length of the day suits me too. There’s enough light at the end of the day to find a site, pitch, eat, reflect on the day and think about tomorrow’s task. And fall off to sleep as it darkens.

    Time to start planning a longer than average time away 🙂

  6. GeoffC says:

    I too feel that Autumn will soon be upon us, dusk is already noticeably earlier and I’m switching on the lights when I get up in the morning.
    I prefer Autumn and Spring, for me the summer daylight is far too long but at least the temperature has been more agreeable for the last 3 years if nothing else!.

  7. backpackbrewer says:

    I also like that change when you get fresh evenings and the sun is going down in a mix of orange and blue. Its feels like the end of something but the beginning of something new too.

    The sky gets a bit bluer
    The air gets a bit fresher
    The wind gets a bit keener
    And there is a slowing down of things that lull you and call to you so that you pull them in and wrap them around you

  8. backpackingbongos says:

    I love september and October my favourite months for backpacking. Warm days and frosty nights, that morning mist and the orange glow. But then the clocks go back and it gets dark just after lunch, spoils it knowing that winter is just round the corner!

  9. backpackbrewer says:

    I love autumn but I also love winter for different reasons. Ok the nights are really long but the crystallity of the colours and sharpness of scenery are superb in the winter. I will savour autumn and then enjoy winter and then look forward to spring, finding something new and unique and good according to the season

Leave a Reply

