Food for thought…

Time for a quick look at hill food.

My normal fare for overnight and weekend trips usually consists of a combination of cereal bars, dehydrated pasta or rice, biscuits and coffee. Ok, not exactly exciting but I’m with Einstein on this one, just eat the same food each day and dont waste time thinking up special meals or concoctions. In winter I tend to add a hot breakfast option of porrage and an evening drink of cuppa soup. Thats not to say I dont occasionally add new things but I am a creature of habit and really enjoy my short list of hill scran.

My favourite cereal bars at the moment are the Tesco’s Fruit and Fibre cereal bars. I like them because they arent too dry or too moist and are really tasty without being overly sweet. They give about 110 calories per bar and are about 25p each (27grams)

Tesco Fruit and Fibre cereal bars

Tesco Fruit and Fibre cereal bars

I normally eat  ready flavoured pasta or rice and I know thats lazy but it works for me. However recently I have come across an old favourite of mine but at a bargain price. I used to scoff bowlfulls of instant noodles before switching to pasta and rice. However the last few overnighters I have done I have been taking instant noodles again. Partly because I do like them and secondly because I discovered that my local Morrisons sell their own value brand version. The packet weighs in at 60g and packs a whopping 535calories and costs a staggering 9p. Yes 9p! If you cant bear the thought of eating unadulterated “dirty” noodles, do what I do occaisionally and chuck in some dried Porcini mushrooms (available from most good supermarkets)….very, very tasty.

Dried Porcini Mushrooms

Dried Porcini Mushrooms

The daddy of all biscuits has to be the much lauded custard cream. High calorific value at around 65calories a biscuit (12g) and its one of those things that gives a pick-me-up in the afternoon and evening. However, recently I have been trying out the majestic bourbon cream biscuit and although it is a drier biscuit (if that makes sense) it is less sweet and cloying to my taste buds.

In the winter, my porrage is a home made affair. Take basic scots oats, add some powdered milk, a little nutrasweet powder and dried raisons. This is a really hot and tasty treat when its cold and really helps me to get through the day’s walking as it is a nice slow release energy food.

Of course the piece de resistance with regards to food has been the use of ziplock bags. How on earth did I manage before? The cereal bars come out of their packaging and into one of these. The porrage goes into a different one and the biscuits into a different one again.

And there you have it. My very simple food list for trips. Its not going to win any awards but it has served me really well the past few years and I am unlikely to change it anytime soon……

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Food for thought…

  1. blogpackinglight says:

    Not quite as good value in calories per gram but healthier: fig rolls 16g and 63kcal per biscuit. I took two packets to Scotland in May for five days. Brilliant snack food and additional energy for breakfast.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    F-f-f-f-f-f-f-fig biscuits Granville? Not a bad shout there Robin, might give them a try next time out. I bet they help keep you regular as well….. 😉

  3. Ah, what I wouldn’t give for a custard cream…

    I’m with you, though – simple is best. While I’m in awe of those folks who put together endlessly varied menus on the mountain, I seem to default to my basics each time.

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    each to their own. If people want to vary their meals when on the hill I salute them. Me? I like simple stuff and to be honest, I cant be faffed to add complexity.

  5. backpackingbongos says:

    I will second the fig roll option – usually get through half a packet a day on a backpack. Noodles are great I have bacon super noodles for breakfast – lovely!

  6. backpackbrewer says:

    So I am not alone then…? 😉

  7. baz carter says:

    Fig rolls are great! If only I could eat them 😦 Malt loaf and Garibaldi biscuits were another pack regular of mine.

  8. backpackbrewer says:

    ahhhhh malt loaf. Absolute nectar and garibaldis were my favourite as a kid.

    I may have to take a few extras next time I am out and about now 😉

  9. Hendrik M says:

    I usually to stick to basics, but will be trying to alternate a bit in the future. Staples are müsli breakfasts with added cacao for that chocolate start into the day, about three müsli bars and one organic coconut & chocolate bar (think Bounty!) plus nuts for in between. SectionHiker had a great Menu + recipes on his website for his recent 9 day hike, good for some inspiration.

    If I come to the UK some day I need to give custard cream and fig rolls a try!

  10. backpackbrewer says:

    Yeah I spotted that on Section Hikers blog. Nice mix of food. If you are desperate for fig biscuits we could always send you some! 🙂

  11. Hendrik M says:

    I hope to come to the UK/ Scotland for a hike in the not to distant future, and I think I can wait till then 😉

  12. backpackbrewer says:

    Nice one Hendrik, I hope you do get to come over to the UK soon and not just for the biscuits!

Leave a Reply

