A Campsite Review – Polmanter, St. Ives

I still havent gotten round to downloading those photos of my recent family holiday yet so I will post them at a later date. In the meantime, I thought I would do a quick review of the campsite we stayed at during our holiday in St. Ives. Of course normally I stay at low key sites or wildcamp but since I was with the family for a week I thought I should at least make an effort with the campsite.

The campsite in question is a place called Polmanter and its situated about a mile out of St. Ives in lovely rolling mixed pasture and moorland. I picked it because it had great reviews in the ukcampsite website and also had a heated outdoor swimming pool. I am currently teaching my kids to swim and so wanted to combine a safe environment to learn along with a bit of holiday fun.

The site itself  is very organised and well laid out. The majority of the pitches have a hedge running between them to give a little bit more privacy and the pitch sizes are enormous. The pitch we chose could have housed our huge behemoth of a tent 3 times over! There were great facilities including some of the most immaculate shower and toilet blocks I have ever seen. They also had a very good laundrette, a shop, an indoor games room, an outdoor swimming pool, a restaurant and a small bar. Sorry to be snobby for a moment but the best thing about the site was the absence of chavvy or loud unsociable people. I am not sure why this was but am thankful all the same. One other great thing about the site was its proximity to St. Ives. Because it was a mile out, it felt like you were in the countryside but also meant we could enjoy a family walk to and from the town through fields and country lanes.

I wont go on and on about the site but for us quite simply it was the best we had ever been to. We had such a relaxing time there we will find it hard to go anywhere else now and shall definitely be going back there next spring.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Campsite reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Campsite Review – Polmanter, St. Ives

  1. baz carter says:

    The Polmanter is still a good site then! This was a regular Easter weekend fixture for the Marylebone Mountaineering Club during the nineties/early noughties.

    There was a pub on the corner of the road into the campsite along with a shop/post office and telephone box which formed Hasletown.

    One Easter we persuaded the owner of the pub and bar staff to join us at Bosigran for some climbing… on subsequent evenings, and visits he would just shake his head in bewilderment at why we did it 🙂

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    yes Baz, it is a good site and I know the pub you are on about. Thats still there and doing business although we didnt go in ourselves.
    Polmanter is a great location and allowed us to have a fabulous camping holiday

Leave a Reply

