Peak District photos from a trip last October

I have had a mind to add a few extra pictures from a walk I did in the Peak District last October. The opportunity of a midweek autumn walk presented itself to me when I got a day off from work for time owed. The weather was definitely autumnal but this leant itself to a perfect day’s walking.

The landslip on the side of Mam Tor

The landslip on the side of Mam Tor

I decided to walk from Mam Tor to Lose Hill and then switch over the Edale Valley and walk up Crookstone Hill for a bit of variety. The “motorway” that is the ridge from Mam Tor to Lose Hill was well populated with walkers but not inundated. Even though it is well visited its still a very nice walk with grand expansive views all around.

The view along the ridge to Back Tor

The view along the ridge to Back Tor

Having walked along the ridge to just below Lose Hill I dropped down into the Edale Valley and then up over to the next ridge that becomes Crookstone Hill and on to the fantastically named Madwoman’s Stones before tracking along the ridge to Nether Tor and down to Edale itself to finish off.

Lose Hill from the Edale Valley

Lose Hill from the Edale Valley

Lose Hill from Crookstone Hill

Lose Hill from Crookstone Hill

Crookstone Hill is definitely one of my favourite spots. On this day it was chilly and the pale sun just about shone through the cloud layer giving everything an ethereal aspect. There are two trees standing alone on an otherwise barren rough grass moorland landscape and they create a very real feeling of solitude. The whole place was very atmospheric and with a cold breeze blowing, there was a promise of a harsh winter to come.

Two Lonely Trees on Crookstone Hill

Two Lonely Trees on Crookstone Hill

I followed the ridge for a while until I got to Nether Tor and then decided to descend back into the valley as the clouds were beginning to get very dark at that point. After coming off the ridge and on the way back into the valley where I had parked my car, I chanced upon a lovely example of a Peak District cottage nestling in the Edale Valley. Just the kind of place I could see myself living in, pipe: slippers, dog and roaring fire the obligatory additions to the dream….

Peak District Cottage

Peak District Cottage

So, a very quick report on an autumn walk in the Lovely rolling hills of the Peak District last October. I shall miss the Peak District now that I am living in Wales again, but I will visit again sometime I am sure.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peak District photos from a trip last October

  1. Martin Rye says:

    I love the place. How can anyone knock it. It has a charm all of its own. Go back soon Dave and rekindle happy memories.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    It definitely does Martin. I also spent a lot of the summer bimbling in and around Dovedale which I thought had a unique feel about it

Leave a Reply

