Cloud inversions and blood red skies

I apologise for not having posted anything for a week but amongst other things I have been (and am still on) nights. Whilst this is an absolute disaster in terms of a social life and indeed any thoughts of really getting outdoors, it does present one benefit.

Most of this week, I have been treated to early morning cloud inversions as I have driven back from work after my shift has finished. I work in Ledbury and live near Chepstow so that means a 45 mile drive either through the Vale of Usk or the Wye Valley depending on my preferences for the day. Either way at this time of the year, I have seen a number of early mists and cloud inversions with the odd smattering of blood red skies. Whilst it is uplifting to see this whilst I make my weary way back home to my bed there is a small problem. It makes me want to get out on the hills and camp from a high spot to watch this unfold…..

I need to get out, and soon

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cloud inversions and blood red skies

  1. Andy Howell says:

    Has the same effect on me πŸ™‚

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    I am now off nights but still the opportunity to get out eludes me. Thats the “trouble” with being a father and a husband, sometimes the “me-time” goes out of the window. I am hoping for a trip sometime in November although the last time I went out at that time of year I nearly get blown all over the mountains….! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

