A blessing and a curse

This week finds me working afternoon shifts. The obvious thing to ask, as per the title of the post, is why a blessing?

 

I last worked shifts around 10years ago, pre kids and pre large mortgages! This meant I had a lot of time to do stuff “out of hours” during the week and also had a goodly sized disposable income. I used to do walking coming off night shifts (going to bed for only a few hours and then making good use of nearly a full day during daylight). Mornings never really allowed for this unless it was high summer and besides which the wife would want me to be around in the evenings. Afternoons was always an odd one. If you got up really early and went out you could more or less get a full day’s walking in before going into work. With kids thats not quite so possible as I find myself doing “the school run” in the morning. Having said that, this week I have had an opportunity to do a few little walks and am planning to do a slightly longer one either Thursday or Friday depending on the weather. I fancy a quick midweek bimble somewhere local just to stretch my legs. Lets see what the weather brings….

 

And a curse? Yes, well working shifts is not conducive to a normal family life, makes you tired and you never quite get a full day’s walking on one of your work days. Having said that, this is in addition to your actual day’s off so perhaps I shouldnt grumble. It also means I get to see a bit more of the sunlight as the nights draw in and winter approaches

 

There’s always a silver lining .

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

