And the forecast is……..?

It seems as though mother nature was waiting until November turned up before unleashing a dirge of bad weather across the country. It certainly feels like early winter now. I feel sorry for anyone with great or grand plans for walking over the weekend let alone camping. It was this time last year that I spent a restless night in a tent in storm conditions in the Brecon Beacons. It doesnt make any difference to me though as I am working the entire weekend. Yes, my job strikes again. A whole weekend and thus 10 days straight does not appeal in any sense of the word. I still feel sorry for those with plans though, the forecast is decidedly unhelpful….

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And the forecast is……..?

  1. backpackingbongos says:

    I have been planning a backpack in the Howgill fells this weekend! However the weather is looking not too good at the moment and I have just come down with yet another cold! Maybe next weekend? Or the weekend after that? This time of year I want those cold clear periods for a backpack!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I kind of give up on November and December always seems to be busy. Therefore January is my target for a good weekend away now….

  2. I’ll have done 17 days on the trot come friday :o( I had nothing planned for this weekend, just the intention to get oot but that looks unlikely now.

    Och!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      ouch!

      Perhaps I shouldnt complain as much! :O

      We all need downtime. I guess my issue is being in a new job and thrust in at the deep-end and working long hours is making me go a little doolalee!!! 🙂

  3. I too had a trip planned for the weekend… but it looks absolutely dreadful. Might have to delay, again!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      it is a bit depressing to say the least especially if you have had something planned for a long time. Last year I knew that my trip in November would have rain but I had planned it for so long that I thought “sod it” and went anyway.

      10 metres of rain and a mini hurricane later and I slightly reappraised my cavalier attitude….

  4. Nigel Gray says:

    Well I had considered a jaunt along the M4 to them there hills over the border…..but whether I can weather the weather remains to be seen!!

Leave a Reply

