Looking for a new Lightweight Fleece

I am in the market for a new fleece. I currently own a Berghaus micro fleece pullover which was as cheap as chips and is used regularily. However I want something with just that little bit extra for the coming months. My requirements are as follows:

100 weight/micro fleece

handwarmer pockets

thumb loops on the sleeves

possibly a hood

dont mind either a full zip on the front or a venting zip

Not too expensive – £75 max

I have been looking around and so far one top in particular has jumped out at me and that is the Rab PS (power stretch) Hoodie. It seems to tick all the boxes although I havent had a chance to try one on. I am tempted to take a punt on this but want to canvass opinion first.

So, has anyone else got this top and if so what do you think or can anyone suggest an alternative for me to ponder?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Looking for a new Lightweight Fleece

  1. baz carter says:

    A bit mainstream but I find a TNF TKA100 1/4 zip does the job. Available in black at 35quid from Costwolds. If you can find them they do a hoody and full length zip version too. And a large tips the scales at 295g.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    thanks for that Baz, much appreciated. I’ll go and have a butchers at it

  3. Phil W says:

    I have the Rab as you describe above and am happy with it. I also read about the Berghaus hoody which sounded interesting though to be honest I haven’t seen one myself. (The Berghaus brand is a bit off-putting these days in terms of image – but perhaps I’m being unfair?)

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    thanks Phil, glad to hear someone has it/tried it. Berghaus does have a slight image issue these days but nowhere near as bad as TNF for instance

  5. Joe says:

    I have the Mountain Equipment Shroud and live in the damn thing. Micro-fleece main panels but with Power Stretch sides, shoulder panels and cuffs (with thumb loops!). It also has a Power Stretch hood, big venting pockets and even a draft flap under the zip. I love it! The only similar piece I’d consider is the Rab mentioned above. I guess it would come down to fit as to which was the best for you.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks for the info Joe,

      the ME shroud sounds like it could be just what I’m looking for aside from the Rab top. I guess I just need to try out both garments to see which is the best fit as you say

Leave a Reply

