The Road goes ever on and on

Just a short poem from a favourite book of mine by my favourite author and it still strikes a chord with me even as I type it….
.
The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.
About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Road goes ever on and on

  1. Simon W says:

    Funny thing about those books – I always seem to enjoy the journey parts the most … the staged battle scenes less so!

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    yes and my favourite bits of the book are the first few chapters and the last few chapters….

  3. Hendrik M says:

    Got to love that Poem. Been a while that I read them, now I just need to decide on a language =)

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    I love all his stuff and actually prefer The Silmarillion as a book. Its simply awesome

Leave a Reply

