My Car! My Car! Drat and double drat

My Car is very poorly.

Having bitten the bullet to go and get it mended for a broken fuel line, I have been informed (in a manner not dissimilar to an undertakers) that my real wheel bearings have also seized on one side. A sucking of teeth and a grimmace from the technician was all I needed to inform me that this was going to be expensive.

Having gone in to the service centre in the morning for what I thought would be a maximum of 2 hours has now turned into a day’s pain. I have ditched any attempt at getting in to work today and have instead settled for a walk in and around Crickhowell on the edge of The Black Mountains. As I write this I am currently sipping tea in a very nice Tourist Information Centre in the Village of Crickhowell. It is well earned having just walked around 5 miles. After this tea, I shall disappear to visit Crickhowell Adventre (a very nice gear shop) and then do another 3 or 4 miles before going back to pick up my car and a hefty bill…..

Ho ho ho, Merry Christmas everyone (sigh)

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Car! My Car! Drat and double drat

  1. Roger says:

    Crickhowell, been there a nice village as you say. Hope the bill was not too hefty. I prefer public transport to and from the trail head, but in many places it is not possible, sadly. So maybe we need to reconsider our options, or find a country where public transport is better. Hmmm too philosophical back to reality there are some nice walks in the Crickhowell area.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I love Crickhowell and the surrounding countryside. Simply fabulous. The bill was very ouch unfortunately but the upside is that now my car actually works again!

Leave a Reply

