The River Wye in early mist

Ok, very quick photo update……

Was out early this morning and just had to pull over and take a picture. It doesnt do it justice but the early morning mist was skimming the water and the sunlight was just awesome. For those of you who are interested its the River Wye as it flows through Tintern in the Wye Valley……

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The River Wye in early mist

  1. Ben says:

    Beautiful picture. Did you manage to get out for a walk or were you in the car on the way to work, like me? I was driving through west Dorset wishing I was walking.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Ben,

    it is on my normal way to work but in this instance it happened to have been on the way to doing a walk instead. I had a couple of days off minding my kids (wife away) and so between drop off and pick up at school managed a few short day walks …..

  3. Beautiful. Is that near the Abbey, or am I imagining things? I remember canoeing that stretch when I was a bairn….

    • backpackbrewer says:

      yes Chris,

      the Abbey is but 3/4 of a mile from where I took the shot. Very popular canoeing stretch around that part of the river

  4. That’s a great pic! Very nice.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks, still isnt as good as the real thing…the atmosphere and view was stunning in the flesh

  5. Ben says:

    It is a beautiful bit of the country. I am thinking of taking my son along the start of Offas Dyke stopping overnight at St Briavels. He is 10 and mad keen on castles so we may stay at the youth hostel.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      not a bad shout, St Briavels (pronounced Brivels by the locals!) is a nice base to explore the area. There is a stunning section of Offas Dyke on a 7mile circular walk taking in 2 bridges, a fantastic pub and part of the dyke on a wooded ridge. If you are interested I will post the details of it to you on this blog

  6. Shamus says:

    It’ll do 😉

  7. Marcus says:

    Good work! Not seen much of the Wye recently and this is a real draw to on back your way for a weekend.

  8. backpackbrewer says:

    Spring has been late coming and so the trees lining the Wye Valley are still bare. The daffodils are only just coming into bloom and even the snow drops were late. I cant wait for the real spring to arrive. The Wye Valley turns into a mass of brilliant green which is only surpassed by the golden colour it goes to in the autumn.

    I have been doing a little bit of walking here recently and although it doesnt give sweeping vistas of mountains and hills going off into the distance, it has a deep allure all of its own. The even better bit is that I can be there in 15minutes

    Roll on spring

Leave a Reply

