Pegs – what’s holding you down?

Glamourous, sexy, interesting, cool…….these things pegs are not. However, they do hold your pride and joy (aka a tent or tarp in most instances) anchored to the ground. Without them life would be interesting in all but the slightest puff of wind. I remember a few years ago there were one or 2 debates about the relative merits of the different types, sizes and materials of construction of pegs. I am not going to attempt to go over too much old ground and there is a pretty good article here:

http://www.backpacking-lite.co.uk/reviews/ultralight-tent-pegs-review.html describing the different types and some of the merits of them

I personally use 3 types of peg depending on the circumstances:

  1. Titanium skewer type peg
  2. Titanium V peg
  3. Aluminium Y peg

 1. The titanium skewer peg is an old favourite of mine and was one of the first items of my old style kit I upgraded 5 years ago when I started get the lightweight bug. Basically a titanium version of a longstanding type of peg. The main benefits of this peg for me are the weight coming in at a miserly 5g. They are really tough and dont bend very easily at all and are easy to put in and pull out of the ground. Where they perhaps dont score well is in boggy/wet ground and /or in a blow

2. The titanium V peg is one I use less frequently than the other two being the heaviest and also the hardest on the hands when using. However it has the advantage of having a large surface area and so the reasoning goes that it is less likely to come out of wet ground, in a hoolie or get “pulled over” from an upright position to flat/out of the ground

3. The aluminium Y peg is probably my overall favourite and most used peg due to its suitability in most types of ground, relative ease of putting in and retrieving from the ground and is vitually indestructable. It is a tad heavy at 14g a peg but it does work.

Ok so far?

So, the real test for me is how well they actually perform in a variety of conditions. I can recall various times when pegs have come loose, or had to be held down with rocks or pulled out altogether but over time this subjective appraisal of them has become somewhat fluffy in my head. What I would really like to do is a bit of scientifc testing and make a more objective appraisal of them instead. I have a couple of ideas and will report back when I have worked it all out! 😀

In the meantime, what kind of pegs do you use and why?

You can tell its Monday

😦

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pegs – what’s holding you down?

  1. R MacE says:

    Terra Nova 5g ti Skewers
    Hampton Works 8g Alloy V pegs (as supplied with Phoenix tents back in the day but still available)

    Depending on the conditions/ground I’ll add
    2 x Vargo Nails
    2 x Alpkit or Camcleat Y pegs

    On the Phreeranger I use the 5g skewers for the 4 end (2 each end) flysheet pegging points. The Hampton Works Alloy V pegs go on the guylines and front/rear flysheet pegging points. The Vargo nails are good if it’s very stoney.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I used to have some nail pegs for the Lunar Solo tarp tent and found them, as you say, good for hard ground and you can really hammer them down if needs be.

      I do mix and match too sometimes, skewers for the main tent and y pegs for the guylines and fly

  2. Martin Rye says:

    Top two and tried those ones TarpTent ships and MLD. There nice but the heads pull of and they are no good. Ypegs I have used and they are superb.

  3. Y-shaped every time. Love them. I used to take V-shaped for snow, but always ended up either banging the Y’s into ice or burying plastic bags full of snow instead.

    I think I read on PTC’s site that the Y’s are all made by the same people in China, it’s just the finishing that differs between brands.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      yes, snow is an interesting question for pegs. Do you take snow pegs or as you say, really hammer in what you’ve got. Depends on the depth of snow really

    • R MacE says:

      I have the Alpkit Y’s and the Camcleat ones, they may well be made in the same factory but they aren’t the same. The Camcleat ones are a bit heavier, a bit thicker and a bit longer. On some of my Alpkit ones if you look down them they have a bit of twist, the Camcleat ones are dead straight. That said I tend to use the Alpkit ones as they look strong enough, seem long enough and they’re lighter.

  4. Ti skewer pegs supplied with my Power Lizard, I have replaced the two end pegs with Ti V pegs (from Backpacking Light) to ensure they don’t pull out in strong winds.
    Mark

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I must admit sometimes I just bung a ramdon selection of pegs into a bag and take them with me on a trip

      Forrest Gump would be proud……

      🙂

  5. Maz says:

    I tend to do the same as Mark with the Power Lizard (or rather my hillwalking comrade does as he uses it) – Vargo Ti skewers and two V pegs at the ends which are the main points of tension on Lizzie. On my Fly Creek, I use Vargo Ti skewers and, if necessary, replace the three triangular points of the inner with V-pegs or Y-pegs depending on the ground.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Maz,

      I guess the least critical pegging points tend to be the ones holding the inner in place. Here you can use lightweight skewers.

      For the fly and especially the guylines, V or Y pegs would be the better bet…?

Leave a Reply

