Pegs part 3….

So,

away I went for a overnighter and bimble in the black mountains this weekend. Whilst I was there I thought I would test out some different soils for my great peg experiment. In the first test back in the garden I had found that V pegs were slightly better than Y pegs for vertical grip in dry firm ground. Both these pegs appeared to be much better than the skewer peg. On this trip I found really boggy ground (waterlogged peat) and also stone-less, moist but really firm ground (rough grass). Again, the tests were performed with a vertical pull on the pegs (after full insertion into the ground) and the maximum measured force required.

So the results….

Waterlogged ground

  • V pegs 9-10 kg or approx 90-100 Newtons of force 
  • Y pegs 8-9 kg or approx 80-90 Newtons of force
  • Skewer pegs 2-3 kg or approx 20-30 Newtons of force

Very firm, moist, stoneless ground

  • V pegs 21-22 kg or approx 210-220 Newtons of force
  • Y pegs 19-20 kg or 190-200 Newtons of force
  • Skewer pegs 8-9 kg or 80-90 Newtons of force

finally the original results from the dry hard ground, for comparison

  • V pegs 11-12 kg or 110-120 Newtons of force
  • Y pegs 10-11 kg or 100-110 Newtons of force
  • Skewer pegs 7-8 kg or 70-80 Newtons of force

I know that this is a pure experimental comparison that does not reflect the real-life conditions or forces that the pegs are normally subjected to. Having said that the skewer peg consistently underperformed vs its rivals. Of the other two pegs, the V peg consistently, albeit marginally, outperformed the Y peg in a variety of ground conditions.

This doesnt mean to say that the skewer peg is a poor peg just that it is outperformed by its bigger (and much heavier) counterparts. As part of a lightweight set up, the use of skewer pegs will always have a place in my pack, I just may have to think carefully about the mix of pegs I use and the conditions I use them in.

Will there be a pegs part 4? Possibly, it all depends if I can rig up a testing system for different peg orientations, double pegging and tangential force applications. I may have to go away and have a long think about that one….. 🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pegs part 3….

  1. Simon says:

    OK, I’m going to bite on this one … in a fish sense rather than a dog sense!

    I’d missed in the previous posts that you were pulling straight up rather than at an angle (the ideal angle being the direction the guy pulls). Essentially what you are measuring here is how easy it is to insert the pegs into the ground rather than how much resistance they pose to a guyline being pulled by the tent. Strictly speaking you are really measuring the insertion force either as you will have had to exert extra force to push the pegs through whatever matrix is being tested and once that matrix has been penetrated the force to extract the peg again will be different.

    I think we need to see Pegs Part 4! 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Yes Simon,

      that is the limitation of my tests although I still think that relative to each other, it give a measure of the pegs performance still.

      Part 4 will attempt to measure a 45 degree pull on the pegs

      Part 5 might have to look at he fact that I almost never ever put pegs straight (upright) in the ground either!

      😀

  2. Simon says:

    Hmm, maybe just combine parts 4 and 5? I always try to put my pegs in at an angle so that the guy pulls at 90° angle to the peg … which is always subject to things like stones and tree roots and the like!

  3. backpackbrewer says:

    ah…no.

    I fully expect to have to pick myself out of the undergrowth in the course of doing this in the future as the force required will no doubt get quite strong 🙂

  4. Could you add to the testing to include the carbon pegs from your Laser Comp if you have any? I like em even if most folk dont.

    I carry mostly Laser Carbon pegs, Cam-Cleat blue y pegs and I have 6 Ti skewers that live in my comps peg bag. find the skewers are very good in sunbaked, hard ground but not much else.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Ive got the 2g titanium skewers and I have just tested one in firm dry ground…….not good….only 4kg of force required

  5. Sander says:

    You should try some pegs of carbon, they are very light and less prone to bending than titanium skewers. I know of carbon pegs of only 7 gramms. the have a solid alu top and a solid alu arrow point. This site sells the 7 gramms options http://www.rutalocura.com/Tent_Stakes.html

Leave a Reply

