Coming soon! A review of non inflatable sleeping pad options

I have to admit that I have been at it again…..

I took all my non inflatable sleeping pads and did a critical assessment of their various merits including weight, warmth, packability, robustness and size. I happen to like non-inflatable pads, partly because I sleep warm and also easily on hard surfaces and partly due to their cheapness and non-puncturability (if thats a word?). The pads that I currently use at various time in the year and have been included in the assessment are as follows:

  • OMM duo mat
  • Laminate floor underlay
  • Gossamer Gear Thinlight pad
  • Gossamer Gear Torso pad
  • Radiator reflective insulation material

Some of the assessments are my own opinion and some are pure measurements which cant lie. When I have worked out a way to put these into a presentable format I will do a separate post. Needless to say the assessments threw up some interesting results….

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming soon! A review of non inflatable sleeping pad options

  1. Will be Interested in the results for my winter backpacking setup to go under my Prolite inflatable mat.
    Mark

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    Well Mark, I’ll have to explain my ratings when I do put the findings together into a post.

    It all depends on what is most important to you in terms of features etc.

    You’ll have to wait a little while until I post my findings but I think you will find it useful

Leave a Reply

