Bringing in the New Year

Just a quick post to say Happy New Year to all. I hope that 2011 will bring a year of good fortune and for me more walking opportunities. I have been blessed in 2010 with quite a lot of walking days but not many camping days. I hope to balance that out a bit in 2011.

I have enjoyed the blogging stuff this year and especially reading other people’s blogs. I would especially like to single out a few people whose blogs I feel have been well worth following.

James’ blog at  Backpackingbongos has got better and better and 2010 has been a fine year for him even when things arent going to plan! Well done James and please keep up the excellent effort on your superb blog

Henrik’s blog at  hiking in finland has also been top notch and he has managed to create a real niche for himself. Since he is based in Finland we get a more mainland european perspective of the outdoors away from the UK’s outdoor scene. I have thouroughly enjoyed his weekly roundup which has introduced me to other blogs and articles and trip reports I might otherwise have missed. Cheers Henrik and good luck with 2011

Lastly but not least Mark over at Mark’s walking Blog has very quickly established a high quality blog over the past 6 months and is a very welcome addition to the fraternity. All the best for 2011 mark

There are of course many other blogs (as per my list and others I havent gotten round to adding to my blogroll yet) who have all posted great articles, superb pictures and great commentaries on trips or gear or the human condition. I salute you all

Have a great 2011 everyone and hope everyone gets out more than they did this year (and still find time to write about it)

cheers, Dave

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bringing in the New Year

  1. backpackingbongos says:

    Thanks Dave. Have a great New Year and I hope that you manage to get yourself out for a winter wild camp very soon!

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    no worries James, keep up the good work 🙂

  3. GeoffC says:

    Happy New Year Dave.
    I can’t be arsed to travel for single-day walks these days, it’s a backpack or nothing.
    A tasty photo from the Brecons there.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      fair point, I am trying to redress the balance. I do like day walks and if its that or nothing I happily take that. I do know what you mean though, I really do get cravings for backpacking trips

      The photo opportunities on the top of that ridge are very nice indeed

Leave a Reply

