Hilleberg Unna vs Hilleberg Soulo – a decision made

Back in October, you may remember that I had a bit of a quandry in looking for a winter tent to suppliment my Laser Competition. I narrowed it down to the Hilleberg Unna and the Hilleberg Soulo. Having previously owned (but loved to bits) the Soulo, I was leaning towards the Unna.

My main reasons for looking a the Unna was the freestanding, 4 season and general versatility of it. The real selling point was the ease of erection and also the fact that the entire front of the tent could be peeled back for full visibility. Since October I have been umming and arring and in the background selling surplus kit. Finally I have been in a position where I have found a good value 2nd hand tent to realise my aims

Therefore to summarise, I have bought a Hilleberg Unna

I know that we are  looking down the barrel of approaching Spring but the offer was too good to pass up. Also I have plans to use the Unna as a tarptent in the summer with either a lightweight bivvy or a homemade lighter/smaller mesh inner.

Anyway, as soon as I have had chance to do a test drive I will report back.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hilleberg Unna vs Hilleberg Soulo – a decision made

  1. -maria- says:

    Congratulations on a “new family member”! Looking forward to reading your reviews 🙂

  2. R MacE says:

    Finally wnet for the Unna then, I looked at both the Soulo and Unna back when you 1st mentioned them and it isn’t an easy choice. It’ll be interesting to see what you think having owned both.

    Using it like a tarp-tent sounds like a good option.

    Richard

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Richard,

      the tarp-tent flexibility was a selling point for me along with the full face opening. If I substitute a lightweight bivvy bag and carbon poles for the summer I reckon I can get it down to around 1.3kg in weight

  3. The Dork of Cork says:

    Using the soulo fly with a bivy is a great combination for spring / autumn (I imagine the Unna would be just as good)

    Used the above in Pyrenees sep / oct as weather was beginning to break down – fantastic redundency – witnessed poor wretches turning up for breakfast in a refuge after a rough night with driving gusting wind and wet snow, did not even notice a problem

    Can you be in love with a tent ?

  4. The Dork of Cork says:

    Sleeping around with only bivys is a part of my life that is over.
    Although a summer fling is not out of the question………..

Leave a Reply

