Hilleberg Unna – it’s here!

Right,

well the Hilleberg Unna has finally arrived and although I havent had time to pitch it in the light yet, I have had a quick feel and got the weighing scales out.

Like the Hilleberg Soulo I used to own, the immediate thing that strikes you with this tent is the sheer quality that screams in your face as you handle it. The stitching is top notch, the materials are robust and where necessary reinforced properly. The poles are sturdy and little things like a spare pole section and pole repair connector give an overall pleasing package. It is green by the way!

On to the weights and I have weighed the individual elements for an idea of potential savings later on. Basically the tent weights are as follows:

  • Overall tent including all stuff bags, spare pole and pole connector and 12 Hillberg v-pegs is 2186g (more than the stated 2100g)

This then is subdivided into the following elements:

  • Fly only 824g
  • Fly vent cover 64g
  • Inner only 642g
  • 12 pegs inc bag 154g
  • 2 poles + spare section and pole repair connector 467g
  • main tent stuff bag 35g

Immediately I reckon I could save around 50g with careful replacement of some of the pegs with titanium skewers. Careful packing and the ditching of a couple of bags a further 25g. Leaving the spare pole section and connector another 29g. Ok so this only gets it to 2082g but its a start.

If I ditch the inner and replace with my Soul bivvy, especially in the summer, then thats a further  400g saved giving a potential weight of 1682g.

Lastly, if I replace the poles with fibreplex poles then I reckon another 200g approximately could be saved (I havent worked it out properly yet) taking the figure down to a potential 1500g

In the winter, I probably wont monkey about with the weights too much but in the summer its very doable and pontentially worth while. I will post a few snaps when I pitch it for the first time and a bit more of a 1st impressions review. After that, its off for a road test in 2 weeks time!

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hilleberg Unna – it’s here!

  1. Martin Rye says:

    Look forward to seeing the tent featured in a trip report.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    yes Martin, so do I!

    I have a short trip planned for the end of Feb locally and then a longer trip planned for mid March in the Arans so it will get a bit of testing.

Leave a Reply

