Hilleberg Unna – a quick update

So,

I was itching to go and play with the new tent this weekend but my daughter’s birthday took precedence on the Saturday and it hasnt stopped raining today! I did however manage a sneaky quick erection (Ooh er missus) in the back garden for literally 5 minutes on Saturday morning 😀

The tent is ridiculously easy to put up, even quicker than the Soulo as there are 2 poles and a quick tightening of the tension straps and thats it! Headroom is superb and the space inside is luxurious compared to what I am used to. I didnt get chance to pitch out the pegging points or guylines but the way that the tent just assumes a fairly taut shape without gives me a lot of confidence. I know the weight is twice that of the Laser Competition but boy oh boy I think I can make a sacrifice or 2 to carry this beauty around. I have a feeling that this tent will get used quite well this year.

Watch this space…

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hilleberg Unna – a quick update

  1. backpackingbongos says:

    Is that carpet in your garden?

    Looks a good tent btw, does it have a porch?

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    um…its astroturf! 🙂

    The tent doesnt have a porch as such, you roll back the inner to create one if required

  3. -maria- says:

    It looks beautiful. Once you get on trail with it, could you report on the following points: 1) is there enough space for you muddy shoes between the inner and the fly (when you have not unhooked one corner of the inner), 2) how does the tent function in rainy weather, I mean, does it rain in if the outer fly door is not fully closed?

    2.1 kg is not really bad for a very usable tent.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I will definitely do that for you Maria when it gets taken out for a proper test in 11 days time.

      The scope for use of this tent makes me think that 2.1kilos isnt such a bad thing after all. It will only be the summer when maybe I look at the weight and think it could be a bit lighter. Having said that, I can always ditch the inner and use a bivvy bag in the summer saving 400g

  4. Robin says:

    You can’t argue about Hilleberg quality. Have fun with your new toy!

  5. backpackbrewer says:

    Thanks Robin, I really do aim to use it as much as possible this year. I know it sounds daft but I reckon I will get out a bit more because of the fact it is a “serious” tent

  6. Your erection looks great, mate! But wouldn’t an erection time of 10 or even 20 minutes have been more satisfying?

    All I can say is: keep that fly door closed 😉

  7. FamilyGuy says:

    I would love to see a picture of the Unna with the ‘virtual’ vestibule to get a sense of room. Any possibility of a pic or two?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi David,

      not a problem. You might have to wait a few days until I can get it up (ooh-er missus) but I will post a few once I do

  8. FamilyGuy says:

    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

