Outdoor trips already plumbed in for the spring – getting organised this time

Normally I drift into walks or trips depending on the weather, people availability or just plain get up and go if on my own. This year I have promised myself to be a bit more organised and commit to getting out. To that end I have managed to sit down and not only plan but really forward organise three trips in the next 2 months.

First off is a quick jaunt into my backyard, the Brecon Beacons for a short trip to stretch my legs and also to test out the Hilleberg Unna. For once I am quite looking forward to some challenging weather to see what the new tent is like in it. Thats got to be a first, looking for wind and rain!

Secondly I have planned to go to North Wales and the Arans in March with a group of like minded fools  friends. I have the friday campsite, saturday wildcamp and route all planned out. I am hoping for good weather on that one although the friday night campsite is but a mere 500yards from a rather nice ale house so if all else fails its a weekend away with friends

Lastly I have planned in a dads and lads (+1 daughter) long weekend at the end of April in a camping barn near Nant-y-Moch reservoir in Mid Wales. Currently there are 14 of us going so it will be fun but a tad manic too. Lots of walking, field craft, having fun and potentially a bit of skinny-dipping will be done that weekend. The best thing is a flushing toilet though….ahhhh bliss

So, even if I do nothing else this year I will be doing a solo trip in South Wales, an adult weekend in North Wales and a family/friends outdoor break in Mid Wales. Quite an eclectic mix dont you think?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outdoor trips already plumbed in for the spring – getting organised this time

  1. Ben says:

    Nice to have some trips to look forward to, looks like a good mix. I have got a Grandad, Dad (me) and son Offas Dyke trip, and a solo trip to N Wales (also Arrans) planned. Cant wait.

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    Offas Dyke is a great trip and I am looking forward to the Arans too

Leave a Reply

