Spring is here…

 

.

Stating the obvious perhaps, but after the savage early winter, it appears that we’ve slowly and surely cycled back around to Spring again. Lighter evenings, stunning blue skies and a chance for some marvellous outdoor time. Looking forward to it more than ever and with the kids growing up a bit, perhaps able to share in the experience a bit more. One thing I must do this year as I always miss it. There is a hidden valley a few miles away from me and the last time I was there in the spring, there was a whole hillside of wild flowers. I have been meaning to take the kids there for some time now and hoping for a riot of colour. Another thing I hope to do is take the kids back to Cornwall as soon as the weather and busy schedules allow. I have a trip to mid Wales planned already for April so probably aim for May.

.

.

In fact I have a whole host of things I want to do with the kids this year as they are old enough to walk, cycle and camp quite well now. When they were small it was difficult but not impossible to do shared things but now they are at a reasonable age, I think it will be just fine.

.

Outdoors time, family time, spring time

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring is here…

  1. -maria- says:

    I wish I could say the same! We still have loads of snow (although it is melting, slowly…) and the morning temperatures are below freezing. But yes, the days are longer, and the temperatures are milder than a couple of months ago.

    I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun in the outdoors with your kids. I’m planning a couple of backbacking trips with our 7 and 5 year olds. The 2 year old will need to wait for a couple of years (day walks and carcamping are of course ok already now).

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Maria,

    yes I forget that some are still in the grip of winter! I am sure your full spring will soon come around.

    Kids are much easier to get outdoors when they are beyond a certain age for sure, although as you say, even for the very young there are still options

Leave a Reply

