2011 – a few photos

As a follow up to the favourite bits of kit for 2011, I thought it only fair I post a few of my favourite photos from 2011 as well. In no particular order or time of year or destination either. I have enjoyed my time out and about this year and I hope this has been reflected in my photos. I am probably a little overfond of sun shots and I admit that the camera I use (LX3) has improvedupon my basic photographic skills! I have enjoyed taking them though and hope to take many more in 2012.

 

Sunrise at Llanthony back in March. A fabulous place that everyone should visit at least once.

 

Possibly my favourite shot of the year mainly due to the weather, the colours and the time of year. It is of course Talybont Reservoir and valley

 

A famous (in South Wales anyway) backdrop to a wandering family of sheep. Another glorious day in the central Brecon Beacons

 

Early sunrise over Sugar Loaf Mountain just outside Abergavenny taken from Crug Hywel

 

A perfect end to a perfect day in mid Wales where I spent my birthday amongst friends and family in April. Best trip ever…

 

Wentwood Forest colours in the autumn. Even in the autumn, splendour and beauty can be found and just for once no sign of the sun!

 

A little gem of a place in The Eagles Nest high above the Wye Valley. Sits atop limestone cliffs reached by the very aptly named 365 steps.

 

Another superb location, this time in the west of the Brecon Beacons with a winter sunset at Usk Reservoir.

 

An early morning inversion around Talybont at the start of a gorgeous central Brecon Beacons walk

 

A stumbled upon reminder of the past from up and around the Carmarthen Fan.

And there we have it. If there is a theme here it is that I spend an inordinate amount of time in the Brecon Beacons. I do still like going further afield but time, family commitments, job pressures and money prevent me from easily and repeatedly wandering too far from what is on my doorstep. I hope 2012 allows me to enjoy my outdoor experiences as much as 2011 has and maybe just maybe I might have a few new destinations as well to enjoy

Happy 2012 to all

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2011 – a few photos

  1. Some beautiful shots there, especially the one with the foxgloves and the lush green hillside! I’m not at all familiar with the Brecon Beacons but it looks there are some superb landscapes to be discovered. All the best for 2012!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks Nick, much appreciated comments. The Brecon Beacons arent all that well known outside of Wales and maybe thats a good thing….less people cluttering up the hills! I am biased of course but I think its a stunning area with everything from roman and celtic remains to waterfalls to mystical mountain lakes and the mountains themselves. Definitely an area to visit if you have never been

      All the best for 2012 to you too

  2. tuur says:

    Great pictures! Came here via search for review of Hilleberg Unna and found not only the review but all your posts, especially the reviews, very interesting. Greatly appreciated! (sorry for my bad english)

  3. backpackbrewer says:

    thanks for your kind comments Tuur and your English is very good!

  4. Martin Rye says:

    Very nice photos. Brecon Beacons look so good.

Leave a Reply

