Winter Car kit-list….what’s in your boot?

The other day, I cleared my car out (I tend to treat my car like my shed…..always full and never able to find anything). Whilst it was very cathartic to clear away the uneeded stuff and bin the rubbish, I did reflect on one thing that I always keep in the car over winter. A kit bag of stuff for that “what-if” moment. Now, you have to remember that in the context of time in my car, I probably spend about 15 hours a week in it mainly commuting to and from work. This is quite a lot of time to spend in a car. Ok, so what of it. Well, I have been in a few close calls during the winter on my commute (I travel through rural Herefordshire) and always like to have the back up of some “stuff” should it be required.

Ok, so whats in the winter kit-bag for my car? Below is a list of what more or less tends to live in the bag over winter. Some of it is used for my normal walking and camping in the winter so at least I know where it is!

  • Grivel steel blade shovel
  • Grivel Munroe ice-axe
  • Kahtoola flexible aluminium ice crampons
  • a big bottle of water
  • spare trousers
  • small 1st aid kit
  • hi-viz jacket
  • snow gaiters
  • fleece blanket
  • sleeping bag
  • small stove and gas cylinder plus titanium pot
  • lighter
  • daysack
  • winter gloves
  • microfleece
  • cap
  • waterproof jacket
  • bivvy bag
  • custard creams 🙂

Bit overkill? Probably. I am talking rural UK not mountainous or wild UK for the majority of my winter driving. Having said that, if I am going on a camping trip, its always good to have this level of kit already in the car just in case I forget something. For those who have camped with me before, they will know and recognise the contents of my boot as a veritable Aladdins cave of kit!

Most favourite bit of kit in that lot? Definitely the Grivel shovel and ice axe. Ok the ice axe on its on is useful, the snow shovel on its own is very useful but used together they are superb. This combination has helped me out of a tricky situation in the past, with the ice axe sliding into the body of the shovel to give an excellent longhandled shovel. The steel blade on the shovel very useful if you have to dig the car out of the snow on tarmac!

I know that Hendrik will probably laugh at this post on account that he doesnt own a car! Apart from Hendrik though 🙂 , does anyone else have a winter kit bag for the car and if so…whats in it?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Car kit-list….what’s in your boot?

  1. Hi
    I have a system too, but not quite as much stuff as yours. The folding snow shovel tends to live in the car all year round anyway, ‘cos it’s out of sight, and then if the forecast looks iffy I throw my day sack in, plus my boots,socks and gaiters. (My day sack will alreay have stuff in like waterproofs, gloves, microspikes, duvet jacket etc etc.)
    I don’t carry a stove, but the glove compartment in my car tends to be full of chocolate and Ribena cartons at this time of year!
    Chrissie

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Chrissie,

      yes, I think I am a bit of a gear hoarder and overkill merchant with regards to the car kit-list. If I was a bit more organised I would have the day sack packed ready as you do but I would still probably leave it in the car. The number of times I have nearly NOT gone into work when driving past the Brecon Beacons or by the Malverns are innumerable! 😀

      custard creams all the way for me……chocolate wouldnt last the day 🙂

  2. Mark says:

    Blimey! We’ve got a ton of snow up here in Lapland and i haven’t even put a snow claw in the car yet. You put me to shame!

Leave a Reply

