Ambitions for the year – outdoor related anyway

Every year, I sort of plan to do various walks and trips and end up completely changing my mind or are forced by circumstance or mishap to alter. Other outdoor or related aspirations come and go. Maybe I have unrealistic goals in that respect, after all I have kids, I work 50 hours a week and travel 10-15 hours a week. Still, I thought it useful for me to review my aspirations for the year and then in 12 months time come back and review that list!

  • Have at least 20 nights out in the hills (not impossible)
  • Visit Scotland for a walking trip this year (the tough one)
  • Visit North Wales for a walking trip this year (already semi arranged πŸ™‚ )
  • Visit the Lake District for a walking trip this year (more challenging but doable)
  • Go on at least 3 “meets” with friends (high on the priority list)
  • Keep the blog up to date! (minimum 1 entry per week)
  • Take the kids camping at least 5 times this year (an easy one)
  • Cost neutral gear buying for 2012 (never buy more than I sell)
  • Do at least 1 bothy trip (more if possible)
  • Do at least 3 tarp trips (relatively easy)
  • Increase and improve the number of pictures I take (dont forget the camera)

Ok, so no exotic destinations, no strange or exciting goals and no real surprises. I just want to get out there, enjoy my time and reflect upon a great year in the outdoors in 12 months time.

Β What are yours…?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ambitions for the year – outdoor related anyway

  1. Since you asked, mine are:
    1. Walk a section of the South West Coast Path (easy, regular fixture in May).
    2. Walk Coast to Coast – my own route though (doable, mainly a matter of scheduling).
    3. A trip to the Lakes (doable and down to scheduling).
    4. A trip to Snowdonia (already arranged by piggy-backing off a family holiday).
    5. Complete the North Downs Way (my local LDP so doable).
    6. Have my first wild camp (probably in combination with #3).
    7. Blog once a week.
    8. Paint at least one landscape for each hill walk I do.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      a goodly list Matthew. πŸ™‚ I especially like the last one, so much more creative than just taking a photo so hats off to you for that one. and no.6 is a must, I absolutely insist upon it! πŸ™‚

  2. Quite simply, mines is to make more time for myself to get outside.
    Last year for me was a bit of a disaster when it comes to hilltime. It was a very busy year for me during which I got married and I ended up worked every hour of overtime possible to help pay for the “event” coupled with the financial stress of our first year living in our first home along with the stress that goes with a Visa application (wife is Australian you see). The year ended off with some big(ish) health issues.

    I’ve thought long and hard about it and just the simple act of getting out to play more often, regularly, fixes just about all my problems in terms of happiness and health.

    As for the actual detailed ambitions for the year? I reckon I’ll decide when I’m looking out the window and checking MWIS. I’ve never been much good at ticking lists anyway…

    • backpackbrewer says:

      well 2011 seems like it was a busy year indeed for you so can understand the lack of hill time (been there). am sure 2012 will be a better year for you and you are right about it solving a lot of the stresses and strains. it just does

  3. I did have a list of trips to do on my blog, but actually deleted it a couple of weeks ago as I began to realise that I was probably being totally unrealistic!

    Still got lots of ideas quietly circulating in my head though…

    • backpackbrewer says:

      yeah but at least if you have the list, it will focus you on doing it. My mistake is to not be disciplined enough to plan way in advance and then when other things come up I already know what I am doing. In a few weeks time I will have a much better idea of what is happening for the year (job change imminent) and so I can begin to plan.

      The old adage is “to fail to plan is to plan to fail” however that doesnt take account of spontaneity!

      Why not put the trips back on the blog and then pencil in dates and see where you go from there?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      its probably the best chance i will have for hill time outside of mid and south wales. Will just need coordinating and often I might have to do last minute trips but I think I will cope! πŸ™‚

  4. Dave, I completely with you on wanting to do more walking but seem to be constrained by life outside of it. Like you I have a family, although I think my children are older than yours. However this time of year spending say 3 nights away a week on business and doing 20,000 miles a year driving – it can be difficult to say – Oh I am going off for the weekend !
    I have not really sat down to think what I would like to do in a serious way – just more walking and camping πŸ™‚

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Mark,

      my kids are 11 and 9 so past the uber-dependant stage but not quite the fend themselves stage. I have to balance expectation (mine) against practicality (my situation) and what’s reasonable (my family).
      My job is changing in so far as I will have to travel further a field but also be able to work from home more so a balance seems reasonable. If I tag some outdoor time onto some trips I think that might work.
      The devil is in the detail

  5. Ben says:

    Mine is fairly simple
    1. More camping with kids, friends and alone.
    2. Explore more of Brecons so may see you there

  6. Well Dave you certainly made me think there, so I’ve taken note of what you said. I’ve re-done my ‘future plans’ page with what I think are realistic targets (crikey, I’ve definitely been in teaching too long coming out with this sort of language…) and assigned possible dates to most of them. It all hopefully looks kind of achievable now!

  7. backpackbrewer says:

    lol re the teacher speak, you’ll be talking about 95% confidence intervals next and significant differences πŸ™‚

    glad that you have revisited your goals and managed to assign some targets to them. Lets compare notes at the end of the year to see if we both have gotten anywhere near them πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

