A week is a long time – a few thoughts from a brewer’s pack

Some weeks are long, some weeks are short, some weeks are monotonous and some weeks brimming with events. Do you ever get times when there is just so much to get done, cram in or achieve is a short space of time? I guess last week was one of those long, eventful ones.

  • I completed my annual review at work which went pretty well followed swiftly by….

getting a new job (although not quite related to the 1st point)

  • selling a lot of old gear and other bits….

allowing me to buy a few new gear items (to be revealed at a later date!)

  • having some really great conversations with fellow outdoor enthusiasts leading to…..

some interesting thoughts for trips, meets and gear (see earlier point re new gear)

  • Planning a long walk…

and finding out that flexibility is key to avoiding disappointment in the outdoors

  • Meeting up unexpectedly with a bunch of old friends….

and immediately plotting some social outdoor trips away in the spring and summer

  • lastly that time is relative….

and that I have had a really good week which has just flown by

I will give a write up of the walk I did in the next few days. Also I will take up a bit of a theme that Robin has started over on his blog about all his kit and the reasons which he likes them. Its been really thought provoking (added to the discussions held on line on various social networks but mainly Twitter) and made me start to revaluate what I like about my gear, what I dont and what my aspirations are for the next year. More on that later. For now I will leave you with a picture from my latest walk…..

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A week is a long time – a few thoughts from a brewer’s pack

  1. Sounds like you’re doing some serious organising and planning!
    The photo looks lovely – is that a tarn you could wild camp by? I love camping near water.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      yes, its Llyn y Fan Fawr (SN 831 216). I have wild camped by it before and its a brilliant little spot. You have to hunt around a bit for a good pitch but there is oodles of space around there. There is also its twin sister lake, Llyn y Fan Fach (SN 802 217) on the otherside of the mountain ridge which can be wild camped by (and there is a very baisc bothy there too)

      Really good wild camping and walking country in this area

Leave a Reply

