1st March – the year starts now

Ok, so a bit of a false statement, but for me the year does start now. Apart from being St David’s day (which is still celebrated in Wales believe it or not), it is the start of Spring and the start of the camping season proper.Β 

I like walking in the winter, I camp in the winter but I truly love this time of year because it is the promise of long light nights, warm evening sunsets and many hours of enjoying the outdoors. I have also for the first time in 6months noticed that I managed to drive to and from work in the daylight! That makes a big difference to my day. The same applies to my walking and camping, having more than 12 hours of daylight to play in for the next 8 months

I currently have 2 trips already lined up and not just overnighters. I am hoping to go deep into mid Wales again with the kids and also up to North Wales for a bit of gratuitous peak bagging πŸ™‚ Both within the next month or two. Spring is a great time for camping and walking so I am really looking forward to these trips.

So, the winter and all its charms is over and the Spring is here to usher in the real start of the year.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 1st March – the year starts now

  1. Yes it’s nice to think that Spring’s on its way, but I can’t get used to this idea that 1st March is the first day of Spring – it was always the 21st when I was growing up!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      You are right it is the 3rd week of March but for me its the 1st of March. But thats just me πŸ˜€

      • Actually it’s not just you – they keep saying it’s the 1st March on the weather forecast on the BBC (and as far as Geoff’s concerned, if Carol Kirkwood says it’s so, it must be right…).

        • backpackbrewer says:

          Geoff’s got good taste then πŸ˜€

          1st of March is a real watershed for me in the year though. The promise of spring and all that entails.

  2. alan.sloman says:

    I was out and about yesterday and for the first time this year the sunshine was warm on my shoulders. That’s Spring enough for me!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Yes and for me too. The great thing about this time of year (for me) is that you get cold crisp mornings, clear skies and occasional warm days with longer hours of daylight. Perfect for camping and walking πŸ™‚

  3. -maria- says:

    We still have too much snow, but it’s quickly turning into slush as the sun is shining and temperatures are above the freezing point. And before we notice it, the snow has melted away. The amount of daylight is just stunning after the dark winter. So I agree with you – this is the start of a new year.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I forget that you have the cold and snow for longer! The longer daylight is something I always look forward to especially though!

  4. I must admit, I like spring in the hills a lot. Especially if there are still patches of snow lingering for melting for the cookpot. I don’t cope well in the heat of summer so the cooler temps and longer hours before the before te midges get going are the best time for me….saying that I like “proper” winter too.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Ditto your comments. I am a midge, mossie and gnat magnet 😦 I also dont like oppressive heat to walk in. I much prefer the cool but promising spring or the fading glory of autumn. In my opinion the 2 best seasons of the year

  5. Well, it did not feel like spring today on the moors above Whalley Bridge, some very moody weather. Very enjoyable actually!

    Golden period for wildcamping starting, longuer days, shorter night,no bugs(except the horrible ticks), frosty nights, mild days…love it. Even campsites are still pretty quiet. Come May and it becomes a bit too long daylight wise and the bugs wake up for good.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      It is the best time of the year for camping especially from a viewpoint of relative innactivity over the winter. I still on balance just prefer the autumn but only just. I am heading out in 2 weeks time and cant wait πŸ™‚

  6. Forecast is looking mightily nice by the end of the week and for what looks like a possible 2 weeks period (usual NW UK spots aside…). Hope your timing is right!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Me too! Weather been good for walking and camping this week so hope it continues for a bit now. Less than 2 weeks to go! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

