The 1st quarter of the year over…..where am I ?

Its April.

Not quite sure how we got to April but here it is nonetheless. A quarter of the year gone by, so time to have a little look back at the targets I set for myself back in January.

  • Have at least 20 nights out in the hills (not impossible) – well on this one, its been a slow start but I have 3 in the bag. Now Spring is here, things should pick up a bit
  • Visit Scotland for a walking trip this year (the tough one) – not yet 😦
  • Visit North Wales for a walking trip this year (already semi arranged :)) – Done.
  • Visit the Lake District for a walking trip this year (more challenging but doable) – still to plan…..
  • Go on at least 3 “meets” with friends (high on the priority list) – tick one meet!
  • Keep the blog up to date! (minimum 1 entry per week) – pretty happy with this, average 2-3 a week for 2012 so far. Not overloading the blog with posts but also not too many big gaps between posts either
  • Take the kids camping at least 5 times this year (an easy one) – tick 1, several more ticks in the next month or so 🙂
  • Cost neutral gear buying for 2012 (never buy more than I sell) – slightly adverse by about £100 but plans to rectify that soon
  • Do at least 1 bothy trip (more if possible) – not done
  • Do at least 3 tarp trips (relatively easy) – not done
  • Increase and improve the number of pictures I take (dont forget the camera) – Pretty happy so far with the pictures I have taken. Probably one of the most enjoyable aspects of going outdoors, for me, is the taking of good pictures and building up a pictorial record of what I have been up to.

So far so good I think. I am not going to worry if I dont manage to hit all my targets by year end but it is kind of nice to have a list of aspirations to achieve. Helps keep me focussed and not let time drift by without doing something outdoor related. It sounds daft but my hectic work and social life means I have to be a bit more structured these days, especially when it comes to dedicating time to the outdoors.

Soon be Christmas…..

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The 1st quarter of the year over…..where am I ?

  1. Ben says:

    Great to have a plan to look forward to and to tick off, if you can. Cracking start so far. I am looking for ward to my next Brecons trip

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Ben,

      yes a good start so far. When are you down in the Beacons next or havent you planned it yet and what are you looking to do?

      • Ben says:

        It is for our annual Grandad, Dad (that’s me) and son trip at the end of May. We hope to do Pen y Fan. I know it is not the best bit of the Brecons but my son wants to do the biggest hill. So we will do that and then show him the hidden gems later.

        • backpackbrewer says:

          defo Pen y Fan for the lad, he has to do the highest one of course! dont get me wrong, its a good peak especially if you do the north approach but be prepared for the crowds lol 😀

  2. edh says:

    I can sort out a nice little route in Scotland for you Dave…..

    Even better – I won’t even come along 😀

  3. ed says:

    Not really 😉

  4. I’ve had one thing on my mind for the last two years and it’s beyond my control wether I can do it or not which is rather annoying…

Leave a Reply

