Camping madness!

It seems like camping fever has gripped the household. Both my kids have declared their wishes, nay demands, to go camping several times in April and May. Whats more is that they want to bring friends! Whilst this is not a problem per se, it does throw up a few logistical issues.

  • Firstly, having 4 kids in the car means the destination cannot be more than say about an hour away, especially as two kids wont be my own! This rules out north/mid wales, devon or cornwall
  • Secondly, having 4 kids in the car means either being very careful with kit choice or taking the other car which is much bigger but eats petrol for fun.
  • Thirdly, the weather. After a superb March, April has so far been much colder and unsettled. My kids and I are used to rainy camps but not sure about their friends. This could well dictate the chosen campsite
  • Fourthly, food. Kit levels inc cooking and tent choices dictate what food I can attempt. If the weather is good, I can take the smaller family tent, just a simple stove and so probably get away with the little car. If the weather is poor then its the bigger tent, more cooking kit and so a bigger car.
  • Fifth, the campsite itself. I know of a few basic but great campsites in the local area but again if the weather is poor it could be a bit of a nightmare. If I go “commercial” it’ll cost a small fortune but the kids will have better facilities etc if the weather is iffy.

Whatever I decide re the above, I had better do it soon. I rashly promised my kids we could go on Friday so I have less than a week to prepare for a mega-kids camping trip. Looking forward to it but the eternal worrier/planner in me is trying to prepare for a whole range of variables!!! An accurate long range weather forecast could come in handy here.

As long as it is accurate….!

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Trips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Camping madness!

  1. The thought of all that cooking would scare me! (But then cooking scares me anyway.) I don’t think 4 kids would go for my repertoire of some variation on baked beans or tinned tomatoes every night…

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Chrissie,

      I know what you mean. If I take the big car I can take the gas powered bbq cooking “plate” its a whopper! 🙂 I could always take the mini charcoal bbq but again this relies on good weather….!

      Decisions decisions. Of course if i go commercial then there will probably be a fish and chip shop either onsite or nearby! 🙂

  2. Ian Barton says:

    I have a similar problem with 3 children, except they are all my own. Unfortunately, the weather looks set to be bad for the foreseeable future. I was hoping to do at least one night camped on a summit, but I can’t see that happening at the moment.

    Food wise bacon baps always go down well. However, for high camps everyone has to eat either Hot Cereal Start, or porridge and sultanas. Promising them a Pete’s Eats fry up always tempers any incipient food rebellion.

    Can’t say that I would be at all keen on taking anyone else’s children. My own three are hard enough work:)

    Ian.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Ian,

      yes bacon butties always quell potential small folk rebellions! The weather is definitely unsettled for the next week but as long as it isnt peeing it down we should be ok. I think I have found the place to take them and I have been fancying it for a little while now

      Middle Ninfa
      Its practically on my doorstep and is halfway up a mountain too 🙂

  3. -maria- says:

    Just make sure all four of them have enough warm and dry clothes with them. Don’t forget woollen socks! Then bribe them with cookies, candy etc. Everything else will work out 😉

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Maria,

      yes, the bribery will be well worked out in advance. Swimming planned and a fish and chip supper for one night plus a real campfire for the evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

