Lightwave T10 trek one man tent – a review

Time for a review.

Before I start, I will explain upfront that the review was made possible by the kind loan of the tent by Carol McDermott of Lightwave tents. I like to make this clear at the start and although I think I am a fair and balanced reviewer I would rather people know. It was a loan mind, not a freebie! 🙂

Right, so onto the review.

I used to have this tent’s predecessor the Lightwave T0 which I sold on after I got the Laser Competition a few years back. I used the T0 quite a bit as it was my first “updated” tent after getting back into camping on a regular basis 6 or 7 years ago. The things I liked about the T0 was the light weight (1.4kg for the ultra). the aethestic pitch and tautness of the fly, the stability in poor weather and its relatively small pack size. Things I didnt like so much were the brow pole (fiddly) and the inner first nature of the pitch. When I saw the T10 was an upgrade on the T0 I wanted to see how much of an improvement it was and whether I thought it a better tent. After all, I did like the T0 it was just the Laser Comp gave me more benefits.

The Ultra pitched

Ok, back to the T10. First of all component weights:

  • 6 x 9g for the red needle pegs
  • 4 x 11g for the gold “twist” tri-bladed pegs 
  • 4 x 29g for the large silver “twist” tri-bladed pegs 
  • (212g altogether in total for the pegs)
  • 1 x 9g for the pole repair connector
  • 275g for the set of poles
  • 11g for the pole bag
  • 627g for the inner
  • 553g for the outer inc guylines
  • 34g tent stuff bag

A grand total of 1721g for the whole tent, pegs and bags.

Just casting my eye over these numbers its a reasonable weight for a one man tent (its in the same weight bracket as the Hilleberg Akto) but obviously not the lightest. Also it is claimed specifically as a 4 season tent and since it comes in around 500g less than the Hilleberg Soulo not too bad. I reckon you could ditch the pole bag and switch the heavier pegs for titanium y or v pegs to save around 60-70g straight off taking it to 1650g. If you wanted to go a bit further, you could replace the guylines with 1.5mm dyneema lines and save a further 50g. Of course in the summer, I would be tempted to ditch the inner and just take my lightweight bivvy bag (200g) to get this down to 1300g.

So now to the pitching of the tent. I tested this tent out on my recent trip to North Wales. I wasnt hoping for poor weather but it would have been a good test for the erection and then robustness of the tent. In the end, the weather was kind and so I didnt get chance to test the T10 to its fullest extent.

I did scan the instructions for the tent but in my own inimitable way, I completely avoided taking them with me or practising erecting the tent. I wanted to try out the tent in a mountain environment without instructions to see how “intuitive” the pitching of the tent was.

The first pitch was at Maeneira and it was as calm and unwet as you could wish for which meant I could put the tent up without having to rush. I put the poles into the inner, pegged out the corners, the rear point and the two mesh “struts” to give a kind of free standing inner struture. I then started to attach the fly over the inner, taking care to fasten the velcro tabs onto the mesh points on the inner where the poles threaded through. These add more stability in wind and although calm I want to see how faffy it was to do this. I then pegged out the fly where the poles met, the two front points, the two mid panel points, the rear point and the 4 guyline points.

That done, taking about 10-15 minutes to do, I surveyed the tent. I have to admit that my first attempt at a pitch was slightly underwhelming. The tent fly was fairly taut but the front porch I felt was a bit flappy. Looking at the design, the 2 pegging struts of material leading away from the fly appeared to be not quite at the right angle to achieve a very taut pitch. I reckong the angle of the material of the pegging points could be a bit sharper/steeper to firm this up.

So onto the second pitch, which was on top of Carnedd Llewelyn with a cold wind of around 15-20mph (measured) to cope with. By now I had realised a small error in my pitching technique (which was in the instructions that I had blatantly left behind to be fair 🙂 ) which was the fact I didnt insert the poles into the eyelets of both the inner tent and the fly. Both the fly and the inner corner attachments have grommets to accept the poles to give a more rigid pitch and “bind” the fly and inner closer together.

The thing that I did do deliberately this time was to pitch the tent “all in one” by leaving the inner and outer attached by the velcro points from the first pitch. I reasoned that by leaving the inner and outer attached, it would speed up my 2nd pitch (and it did). Careful threading of the poles through the inner and velcro was relatively easy to achieve and this way would definitely help with an erection in windy and rainy conditions.

So this time the pitch took about 5-10minutes and I felt that the end product was a much better result. The fly was really taut and the stability improved. Even the loose/flappy porch seemed better (though I still reckon could do with tightening up a teeny bit more – short linelocs a possibility here). The tent was growing on me and reminded me why I liked the original tent the T0. The 2nd night went without a hitch apart from one of my campmates helpfully shaking my tent in the morning to wake me up!

So onto the summary

Pros

  • aesthetic and aerodynamic in design and appearance
  • stable (once I had worked out the true pitching mechasnism!)
  • fairly intuitive pitching
  • the best inner-first tent I have tried to date
  • not sure whether this is by chance or design but the fact that you can leave the inner and outer attached and then pitch as one for poor conditions (and it worked well by this pitching method too)
  • well made (no poor stitching etc)
  • pack size quite small (especially compared with all the one man Hilleberg tents)
  • reasonable sized porch (much improved from the last version the T0)
  • longer inner (225cm) than the T0 (212cm)
  • no brow pole!
  • 2 way zips to aid ventilation on fly giving a variety of venting and viewing options
  • Lots of pockets including a couple in the inner forward mesh “struts”

Cons

  • Ever so slightly heavy for the (one man) size. I would like to see this tent dip below the magic 1.5kg mark and to be fair the follow up tent the T10 “ultra”, which is due to be released later this year, should achieve this easily.
  • Not entirely happy with the porch pegging out points. I reckon they could be tightened up a bit and might be a bit flappy in heavy wind. If I had the tent I think I would mod these points to accept short lineloc guying lines to pull the fly porch area forward more.
  • the number of pegs needed. This tent is supplied with 14 pegs at around 212g BUT, to peg out ALL the available points and guylines etc takes 18 pegs. This is quite a few pegs and a bit of the weight contribution. If I owned the tent, I would used smaller, lighter titanium pegs to reduce the weight and bulk.
  • Although the brow pole is gone, I am not convinced about the replacement vent design and it is almost closed in terms of a gap between fly and inner at the apex of the front pole (however, I did not get any condensation issues for either night to be fair and there are more venting options with the two way zip on the fly door).
  • The tent could be “wobbled” sideways from the porch apex back and forth ie it wasnt “rigid” (although it did spring back into place afterwards). I would have liked to have tried it in very harsh wind to test this out fully but alas it was fairly calm. Having said that, my Hilleberg Unna moves more that the T0 when “wobbled” and I suspect that the wobble is to allow the tent to deform with heavy side wind and then pop back into place rather than fail catastrophically.

All in all?

I do actually like the tent although it did have to “grow on me” over the course of the trip. I think the design of the fly and inner combining onto the poles is very clever. I am not entirely convinced by the porch design although it is functional and an improvement on the original (T0). You have to carry a fair amount of pegs but the finished article is very attractive, stable and comfortable inside. In fact I slept very well both nights which was a good result! I thought the interior was well laid out in terms of pockets and zips and headroom and in poor weather/winter conditions would help with its “livability” for long periods of time.

The other thing to mention is the weight. Its not heavy for a claimed 4 season tent (the Akto is 1.6kg and the Soulo 2.2kg by comparison) but I would like to see it dip below the 1.5kg mark. When it comes out, the T10 ultra should achive this and I reckon this could be a real viable and lighter alternative to the established Hilleberg mountain tents. The other big plus is that the price point is very favourable versus the other tents in its class. The T10 retails at £250 whereas the Akto is £400. I am not going to get into a full comparison of the relative merits but I think that the T10 has been firmly planted in the 4 season mountain tent catagory and has to be judged as such.

Finally, I think the T10 is a worthy successor to the T0 and indeed an improvement in a few areas. I wish I had been able to fully test the pitching and resilience of the tent in harsh weather but obviously I will leave that for others to do and hopefully report back.

I would like to thank Carol McDermott for the loan of the tent for the purpose of the review (which has been returned) and I have tried to give a fair and impartial assessment of the T10 trek.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear, General chit chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Lightwave T10 trek one man tent – a review

  1. Diddy says:

    Great review Dave looks a nice tent and i might ditch the akto for one tbh…
    Whats with all the water bottles? you didnt carry them up high did ya???

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Diddy.

      the water bottles was because there is no water on top of Carnedd Llewellyn so we wanted to make sure we had enough for the evening and breakfast too 😀

  2. Nice review. And I like the look of the tent too. Never used any Lightwave shelters personally (seen em in the flesh of course). I’m intrigued as to it’s labelling as a 4 season tent though. After all it is a tunnel tent and they are prone to the winds shall we say and struggle to carry a snow load on top (more for Scottish winters that I suppose in UK). I guess it’s pretty ‘bomber’ or taught once pitched?

    You say the weight is a fair whack but to be fair not so very long ago, any tent under 2kg was considered lightweight eh? So, I think for a tunnel tent and it’s weight it’s a bloody bargain for £250. I do like tunnel tents if anything for their room, so it’s nice to see a relatively lightweight one for a reasonable price 🙂

    How small does it pack down mate? Also, is there much room between the inner and outer? Are they prone to touch? It does look tight as a drum in ya pics.Love the pic on Carnedd Llewelyn 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Terry,

      the T0 I used to own was very bomber in terms of wind resilience as I once had a swirling 50mph blow hit me and the tent didnt budge. I am guessing due to the close design nature of the T10 that this should be the same.

      The weight is slightly heavy compared to a Laser Comp or Vango 100 but not compared to the Hilleberg tents. As a 4 season mountain tent, the weight is actually not bad at all and I happily carried it on my trip. And you are right that not long ago 2kg was considered the benchmark for one man tents.

      The inner and outer separation in wind is the one thing I couldnt test. The fly has tie out points half way along the hem which improves the separation but in a heavy side wind I reckon you will get touching. To be fair to Carol, he has made the inner DWR and also advises that you try to pitch the tent tail first into the wind to maximise performance.

      The packsize is good being what I call “cycle pannier” sized and is about half the volume of a Soulo in its stuff sack

      • Agree with most of your points it’s just I’m not so convinced on them labelling it as 4 season ya see. 4 season to me means it will not only take a battering on the hills in strong winds, but will carry a good dumping of snow on top in winter without compromising the tent. Granted, we don’t get that much snow per se most of the time (not including Scotland of course)

        Even so, for the weight and money, it looks a damn nice tent mate. Shame you had to send it back eh? 😉 lol Buggers aint they? lol

        • backpackbrewer says:

          I see your point Terry, snow loading is a big test for any tent.

          It is a shame to return it, but a promise is a promise and besides which i have too many tents! 🙂

  3. peter277 says:

    hi nice review but for a bomb proof 1 with space all season tent have a look at Tarptents scarp1..under 1500g or if you can leave behind the “i need an inner” have a look at MLD’s Trailstar i have both and both work very well in wind

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Peter,

      yes the Tarptent Scarp 1 is lighter although there have been reports of poor workmanship on several of these and so that reduces my confidence on using one high up and in poor conditions. I am sure its fine but I am not convinced that the Scarp is a true 4 season mountain tent

      The trailstar is a good alternative when using a bivvy inner for sure although I havent succumed to getting one yet!

  4. peter277 says:

    hi nice review there..you might want to look at MLD’s Trailstar shelter bomb proof in wind or if you need an inner Tarptents scarp1 also in my opion a 4 season shelter my trailstar with pegs choice comes in around 770g and my scarp with extra guy lines and pegs just scrapes under 1500 g might be worth a look

    • backpackbrewer says:

      the trailstar does work well in terms of weight, space and reported robustness. My only gripe is that I dont currently use walking poles so this would be an additional thing to carry.
      Other people really rave about the scarp1 and I nearly bought one, but not quite 🙂

  5. No comments about the tent (my Sololite fits perfectly well the “bomber” bracket of my tiny collection…) but blimey Dave, you sure you had enough water with you there? 😉

    PS Not that I’m naive enough to think it was only water in those bottles… 😉

  6. edh says:

    It does not appeal to me – but then tunnels by their very nature don’t. Looks like a bit of a coffin – which is why I don’t like tunnels. Also looks a bit ‘fiddly’?
    Putting a tent up in 10-15 minutes must be a speed record for you Dave; you should buy it on that alone.
    Unless out in weather that the UK gets very seldom the whole ‘4 season’ bit seems fallacious to me 🙂
    There is ‘anecdotal reporting’ on lot’s of things….it’s almost as meaningful as using a tent for two night then doing a review of it 😉

    • backpackbrewer says:

      It was a bit fiddly to start but the second pitch was easy and far easier than the Laser Comp in my opinion. Yes, you know I am finicky about pitching and hence it take ages for me to get the perfect erection 😉

      re the 4 season thing, you are quite right to point out that it is anecdotal until proven by experience and preferably lots of it. This is a snap shot and part of the analysis is “borrowed” from my experience with the T0 its predecessor. Although a different tent it shares many of the same features and materials. The T0 wasnt perfect but it did put up with some batterings and horredous weather during the times I used it.

      But, it does still need to be tested in bad conditions to make sure of its claimed properties for sure

  7. edh says:

    But a fair review nonetheless – I think I came across a little critical above…and those criticisms were (largely) outside of the review itself.

    There, I feel all better.

  8. bigbananafeet says:

    That Carnedd Llewelyn summit pitch piccy is a beauty! Nice looking tent too. I’d like to see some testing done in some atrocious conditions though to see how it really handles.

    Not really in the same league but the last tunnel tent I’ve used regularly ( A long time ago) was my ancient old Vango Tempest 200 and I seem to remember that it took a bit of a pounding in the wind before things got scary.

    After moving to a single transverse hoop (Laser Comp) for lightness and being capable in most conditions and the pyramid style (SL3) for oodles of space and realy piss poor conditions I’m not sure I’d want to go back to a tunnel but seeing that one above is making me a wee bit nostalgic all the same…

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Agreed, more testing definitely required!

      And I completely agree re the nostalgia thing. I loved my T0 despite its flaws and I often thought about it after I sold it on. The chance to test its successor was too good an opportunity to miss and a return to my rekindled passion of camping when I first bought the T0

      • bigbananafeet says:

        I’ve still got my old vango stored away…unless the mice have been at it! I might go dust it off and see if its as good as I remember it to be on a wild night!

  9. Diddy says:

    Far too much water imo some has to be Holy water (rocky’s version of vodka) and if Jo and Se@n were about im sure it would have been ;0)
    As for water you should have nipped down to the Cwm Flynnon Llyffant (SH 688 645) really nice spot for water and it also has a recorded WW2 plane wreck strewn about the Cwm with a memorial plaque.
    And back to the tent! whats the mesh thing in the porch? not seen that before or am i just not seeing it right??
    And for snow handling imo it would just slip right off with nowhere to actually start to hold (had laser comp in bad snow and it just slipped down to the ground)…

    • backpackbrewer says:

      only about 2 litres of water there mind! i wasnt having a bath in the stuff 😀

      re the water source you refer to….couldnt be fagged to go down there to get it 🙂

      the mesh thing is part of the inner setup, when that is pegged out the inner becomes “freestanding” it also has a nifty pocket for bits and bobs in it

      re the snow, I reckon you’re right as there is actually a ridge seam running all the way along the top

  10. GeoffC says:

    Hmm, still heavy for a one-person tent, and I too would be a bit dubious about true 4-season, although how many times are we out in conditions like that?. I certainly wouldn’t be!. (I don’t think comparing it to the weight of the heavier Soulo is valid, that’s a different kind of beast).
    I almost acquired the old T0-Ultra but the last one disappeared from the shop (apparently!) and the material became unavailable, that was about 1.4kg, but for any conditions I’m out in, the much lighter LaserComp is still just fine.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Geoff

      true 4 seasonability is a tough thing to define and yes I guess its hard to compare versus the Soulo as it is a different type of tent.

      The T0 ultra was a good tent but flawed mainly in the sizing side of things but was a 4 season tent (by experience I hasten to add 🙂 ). I think the T10 is better but unsubstantiated on the robustness score as yet

      The laser comp is still a fine tent and in my eyes a modern classic of design and functionality (more so that the Akto in my opinion)

  11. Gareth Jones says:

    Great review and nice to see someone taking a look at the Lightwave tents. Carol makes some brilliant stuff which doesn’t get the exposure it deserves.

    I’ve got the T0 Ultra XT and the thing that impresses me is the build quality. Down sides are no ventilation, a little on the heavy side and I think 4 season might be fair but probably not at altitude. Plus sides, it’s the tent that I end up consistently taking with me year round. The space to cook in when the weather is poo is not to be sneezed at, and it has dealt with some “interesting” weather and survived with nobs on. It’s a very personal choice and I know lots of people aren’t fans because of the weight, but for me I love this tent as at days end it gives me a secure large space to chill out in and at 1.6kg gives me the balance I am looking for.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Well I liked its smaller sibling the T0 ultra. The Ultra XT gets round one of the downfalls of the T0 by having a pretty decent sized porch! 🙂 Good to see another person with alot of experience of the Lightwave tunnel tents too. I was beginning to think I was one of a select few….

  12. Addick says:

    The only things i’d like to add are that for driving rain and gusting winds i’d rather be in a Lightwave tunnel than anything else and i want a red one.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      lol, you and your red ones!

      Well the T0 did well in driving wind and rain. I remember one particularily evil December camp high up by Grwyne Fawr reservoir with cold gusting rain driving in all evening and all night. The T0 did well that night though as I remember I wished I had had more room, which the T10 should deliver

  13. Diddy says:

    Yeh Red tents rule !!!

  14. Scott says:

    I don’t like the aesthetics in comparision with the T0. And the weight is now too high in my mind. Does appear to have been made more into a tent for use in the mountains, the selection of pegs looks good, but the larger stakes look to big; I use the red pegs and four titanium v pegs with my T0. I would have been happy with the pegging points at the centre and the double attachment guide line set up used on the T0 model before the last, where the two front guide lines attach to the flysheet in two places and use one peg. Front looks better for wind, but I haven’t had much trouble with that. I think I’ve only once not been able to cook in the porch. I quite liked the cowl, as it stops most rain coming in when you get in or out, but looking at the changed inner this one doesn’t require it. The vent looks a bit poor though. Is it meant to be a single or double guide line set up at the front? Not sure about all the pockets..? And I think I could bare the weight (no phun intended) if I owned a lightweight tent already.

    Prices are getting very anoying at the moment! Nearly £100 more and £130 more now for the Akto and in the space of less than two years. …Still I need a four season tent.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Scott, the T0 is still a cracking tent but like every tent has its weaknesses. The T10 is no exception. Its a nice tent but there are a couple of niggles (the main one is the front porch pegging “tautness”).
      The fly vent is almost not worth having and just exist with a mesh panel on the front inner door instead.
      The front is a double guy system which you can use in single or double mode. I just used the single guy attachments for the test.
      The weight is neither here nor there in terms of one man tents. Its a lot lighter than the Soulo/Unna. Its the same weight as the Akto and a lot heavier than the Laser Comp. The Ultra version when it comes out later on this year should be nearewr the 1200/1300g mark which is a much better proposition.
      Re costs. Yes, completely agree, prices have really rocketed especially for Hillebergs. There is no real answer to it. You can get some very reasonably priced tents that arent Hillys and are there or thereabout with regards to weight and “4 seasoness”. I still think Hillebergs are very good tents but think they are overpriced for what you get. Ask people who own Tarptent Scarps. These have been flown in from the US and incurred import tax etc but still work out cheaper than Hilly and are lighter and some would argue better designed and equally robust

      • Scott says:

        Yes once you have paid enough to get a lightweight ripstop flysheet and T9 alloy poles ect… You can only then really get a choice of design, and all have been produced by one company or another. I don’t think Lightwave should be afraid of ultralight tents like the laserlite as there really somewhere between two and three season use wise and have had all of the robustness and durability stripped out to get them down to the weight that they are. They have there place, but are more of a fad I think. I mean who wants a £300 tent that only really lasts a few years?! If thats why they have gone more in the direction of 4 season use with the T10 and have increased the weight by doing so.

        There also seems to be a lot of cheaper/cheap tents catching up when it comes to design at the moment. My next tent maybe less than £100 possibly.

        • backpackbrewer says:

          competition between tent manufacturers is good for the consumer in terms of choice, new developments and price. Also we shouldnt get snobbish about price. If there is a good tent with reasonable specs but costs under £100 we should consider it. I picked up a 3 man tent for £35 for basecamping with the kids. Brilliant for what I want it for!
          Your comments remind that there is no “perfect” tent only compromises.
          The T0 is a compromise tent and I think manages to hold its own in the weight department and being robust.
          For me, I really do think you end up owning several tents for use depending on the conditions. Light ones for overnighters, sheltered camps and summer, heavier ones for winter comfort.

  15. StephenM says:

    Alright Dave,

    Nice Blog mate, I have followed your Soulo/ Unna posts for quiet a while.

    I used the original T0 for a couple of years and it’s a cracking tent and always pitched in to the Wind but on a few occasions the wind changed to broadside and lets say things got a bit interesting. I have also used a Lightwave G1 ultra and Crux X2 storm for half a dozen winter trips and they are great tents, but the inner pitch first finally put me off.

    I have used a Scarp for about 20 nights (including confirmed 70mph guts from all angles, using cross poles) and it held its own, I do think the build quality is not as good as Hilleberg and you need to give it a thorough inspection after every windy trip, some folk call the Scarp a 4 season tent but it’ more so a 3.5 season tent if that makes sense, I have spoken with Franco from tarp tent and he agrees with me.

    I picked up a Hillie Soulo on sale from Hilleberg USA earlier this year and used it for two trips, to be honest I love the ease of pitch, bomb proofness, the Scarp with Crossing poles is far a more “liveable” design, but at the end of the day the Soulo is a far different beast so it’s not fair to compare the two.

    Like you I have a love hate relationship with the Soulo, if only it was a few inches more in length and width, but then folk would say buy a bloody Allak 🙂

    Cheers,

    Stephen

  16. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Stephen, thanks for the comments.

    I have heard that re the Scarp in that its a 3.5 season tent not a full 4. I am still not sure if I will ever get one. For now the Laser Comp is my renewed current favourite 🙂

    Soulo is a cracking tent and I really shouldnt look at the Allak as its a super trekking winter tent 🙂

    I had a Lightwave F2 for a while which is basically the same as the crux storm and although it was huge inside and very strong, the inner first also put me off

  17. StephenM says:

    Ah, The Laser Comp that’s a love hate tent, I have been using Tarp Tent Stratosphire 1 lately and it’s very nice, was in Rockys last week and it played a blinder.

    I am living in the US at the moment (hence the Rockys trip) so will hold on to the Soulo until there is 6 foot of snow it to see if it works out.

    The advice I have been given by local Soulo owners is to keep the doors open if possible and use a tyvek footprint in the porch for extra space, and only batten the hatches if it’s blowing a gale.

    The handy thing about the Scarp for if I am heading back home for bit I only need carry one tent and take the Cross poles I’d the weather looks crap.

    Have you had your Unna our in any crazy weather yet?

  18. Merijn says:

    thanks man!

  19. Miira says:

    Hello there,
    I have a lightwave t10 tx tent (the one with the long porch) and have given it a couple of test runs.

    First time it was just below 0 degrees and guite a bit of snow on the ground. It was snowing at night time too, nothing severe, so no extreme conditions, BUT…
    As it happened, the outer tent had completely collapsed on top of the inner tent, during the night and I realised that pegs don’t really hold in the snow as the pegs moved towards the tent during the night.

    Snow from the sky mainly slid off the tent so that wasn’t a problem.and I am quite confident that the tent cound handle a lot more of it. Not on the ground though. I woudn’t trust any tunnel tent with that. What do you people think? Any tricks to overcome this problem?
    Anyway despite the outer tent collapse and lying on top of the inner tent with no gap in between, I was warm and dry, which was a great surprise after seeing the tent from outside in the Morning. It looked rather… hilarious.

    My second try was last night, it was just above 0 and very, very windy. I found it a lot easier to pitch this tent in windy conditions compared to my other tents.

    There wasn’t too much snow on the ground this time, so I manged to get the pegs properly into the ground I didn’t use any of the ropes so it was just standing with the Basic pegs. Tent was shaking like crazy, I don’t know how much the ropes would have helped. I had it with the back towards wind as it should be. I found it quite windy inside the tent as well.
    At times I thought I was going to wake up in another continent, and was worried whether I will have an outer tent left at all. Anyway, in the Morning the tent was still firmly standing, in it’s Place, looking as peaceful as ever, so I think it can handle very windy conditions when pitched properly.

    So my opinion so far:
    tent is beautiful to look at, the materials seem perfect, I would trust it in rain and snow, but wouldn’t use it with a lot of snow on the ground, unless I had trees or Stones that I could use for pitching it properly. Also I think if I could choose now, I would take the tent without the long porch and save the grams in weight.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      Hi Miira,

      re pitching the tent in the snow, I would use some snow pegs. They are big and heavy but if you know you are going to have snow on the ground these will help alot. Unfortunately the downside of a tunnel tent is that you absolutely have to have good anchorage of the fly to achieve a stable pitch.

      The other thing to note is that I would always use the guylines, especially in winter. Again, a tunnel tent relies on multiple pegging points to keep it erect and stable. Its slightly different if you have a free standing tent as this is not as reliant on guying out.

      Glad you like the tent though.

  20. Miira says:

    Hi,
    Yep I deffinately learned my lesson about pitching a tent in the snow and in the future if I decide to camp out when there is lots of it, I will invest on decent snow pegs. I was just so exited about trying out my new tent that I just ran out to the nearby forest with my brand new tent, without any thought of the fact that there was snow out there ;). Never mind, live and learn!

    And next time I will guy it out properly, as it will be on a 2500m high mountain in La Palma, where the weather can turn out to be just about anything between nice and warm to snow and hail or both in one day.

    These first testing rounds have been mainly practice on pitching it within reasonnable time, which I haven’t quite achieved yet! It took me 45 minutes! Well ok, most of it was wondering how to direct the tent correctly with the wind and still miss the bloody big rock right in the middle of my camping ground!

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      Lol, we have all done that Miira with a new tent, although if I were to run out to test a new tent at the moment I would sink! 🙂

      You’ll get quicker with practice. I found the Lightwave (and inner tents in general) quicker to pitch if you are able to leave the inner and outer connected together. This doesnt always work especially if the day before the tent is wet, then separation of inner and outer is essential before packing and moving on.

      Getting the pitch right with a tunnel tent is important as they are normally designed to be strongest tail into the wind but as long as you peg and guy it out fully it will be sturdy if you have a swirling wind. I had this with the T0 and was surprised how well it performed when battered from all directions

      Enjoy!

  21. Miira says:

    Hello again,
    I did a hike in La Palma, and had to come and write about it. This time around my first night in my t10 xt tent was at 2400m high mountain peak. Wind was crazy! I had tied all guylines to the tent and attached inner and outer tent before taking off in case of rain.

    Wind was so strong and swirling to all directions that I had to put my backpack on the ground, place a big rock on top of it and then tie the tails of the tent onto my backpack before starting to pitch it to stop it from flying off completely. It was a mission! As the wind was glimbing uphill the tent would fly straight up at times so trying to anchor it with pegs only to start with was not an option.

    Anyhow, after fighting with it for about an hour, a had it firmly on the ground. Ground was quite hard lava sand and stone, so the red pegs were absolutely perfect for the job.

    I am certain that in that kind of wind any tent would have been a mission, if not impossible to pitch and secure to the ground. But this tent was amazing and deffinately proved itself worthy! I have a completely new respect for it.

    In such heavy wind it would have been better to pitch the inner and outer tents seperately. I had prepared myself for rain, but this time wind was the issue. Once again, live and learn!

    Wind actually ended up getting so hard that on my fourth hiking day, I ended up flat on the ground, crawling on my hands and knees, dragging my backpack on the ground as it got impossible to get up anymore. A bit too extreme for me! That’s when I diverted off the planned route and did a crazy, leg-killing descend from 1800m to sea lever in 5kms hike!

    Rain and snow just slide off the tent but sand doesn’t! So now the tent lookes like it’s been to sahara. It is still complete unbroken though I was concerned as the edges were scratching the rocky lava ground constantly during the night. It has a nice, yellowish colour now 🙂 , so next time I hope for the rain instead of wind.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      Hi Miira,

      thanks very much for coming back and sharing your continuing adventures with the tent!

      Sounds very extreme weather especially the wind you had to put up with so well done and glad the tent did the job.

      Sounds like your hiking is far more exciting than mine so well done and let me know of anymore adventures. It makes great reading 🙂

  22. Lance James says:

    ‘i have been using the old Lightwave t0 for the past two years.Great winter tent seen many a windy night out. Go-outdoors has the newer t10 in the sales for £180, so I snapped one up.
    Not too heavy on the scales at 1.669kg. As I tend to pimp all my tents I set to work and lightened the load to 1.5kg, much better. I have used 3 meters of Dyneema 1.5 with mini line locks, per guide line on the front of the tent,( set up like the Hilleberg Nallo 2 ). Lighter pegs and changed all the other cords and elastics for lighter offerings. Hope to get it tested in Scotland next month.
    Thanks for the reviews.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      Hi Lance, glad you are pleased with the tent and a bargain price. Also great to see that you have managed to get the weight down to that magic 1.5kg mark. Let me know how you get on with it when in Scotland 🙂

  23. Lostsheep says:

    Great week on the Isle of Skye, warm, dry and some over freindly midges at low level.
    One camp was on Dun Cann Isle of Raasay. And later in September in the Lakes. Mods work well
    and will be using the t10 in November all be it low level.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      glad yoyu like the T10 and making good use of it. I alas am not doing much at all! 😦

  24. Miira says:

    Hello again,
    I had a chance to go winter camping again, so last night I was off to the forest. It was snowing the whole time. This time I took some winter pegs with me :). I pitched my lightwave tent inner first, and it stayed dry even though it had to stand there on it’s own while I was sorting out the outer tent.

    Snow slid off the tent nicely, same as before. A little bit of ice got stuck at the seams. Inner side of the outer tent was covered with ice as I got up, moisture causing it ofcourse. It would have been good to leave the door open for ventilation, but wind had turned by the time the tent was ready and standing, blowing from the side. I had to keep the door closed (being the xt version, the door to the porch opens from the side.

    I stayed nice and warm, and once again was very happy with the tent’s performance.

    A little critisism comes from pitching and taking down the tent. I think it is a bit … well, complicated. I couldn’t do it with gloves on.I have another tunnel tent, and that is a dream to pitch compared to this one.

    I would like to attach a photo, but I can’t see any way of doing so.

    Cheers!

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      Hello again Miira.

      Thanks very much for coming back to my site to update everyone on your continued adventures with the Lightwave.

      I think you are right re the pitching, it is a little fiddly but like I have said many times before, there are no perfect tents only tents that are perfect for you. If you love a tent despite its minor flaws then its a great tent .

      As I havent done much camping recently I feel a little rusty so will have to plan in something soon. I am going to have to relearn how to pitch a tent!

  25. Tim says:

    i own the t10 and a t30. i am a massive lightwave fan. as a biker and a soldier i have used these both in some horrendous conditions (sometimes not by choice either 🙂 the joys of being a soldier). they perform magnificently. they are truly a 4 season tent. build quality is exceptional. never suffered from any condensation and never have they leaked. i wouldn’t hesitate to recommend these to a friend.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      They are good tents Tim. I have owned 2 and trialled a third. Definitely 4 season and definitely puts up with punishment in my experience!

  26. David White says:

    Well written and fair.

    I bought a T0 when they first came out eons ago, and have put it through some serious torment in that time, from pitching on top of munros in hail and storm force winds to living in it for days in torrential downpours on the western isles. One day in Bridge of Orchy I woke up dry in the middle of a stream due to flooding. This tent refuses to die.

    The only problem I ever had was the stitched seam on top which sprung a leak one day, but then Carol does recommend sealing these seams yourself after some time. A quick smear of seam sealant fixed that and it’s never leaked a drop since.

    I am very glad to see they’ve got rid of the brow pole as this was a REAL pain especially when trying to pitch the tent in clouds of midges.

    I had some ideas in mind to improve the T0 such as guying out the brow section and ditching the pole, and also combining inner and outer pegging points using guy rope to save peg weight. I also considered some foam spacers to prevent the inner and outer sticking together and letting moisture in. This happens in a side wind sometimes.

    I’ve since purchased both the G1 ion and T30 Trek tents and love them both. The T30 had a faulty pegging point which ripped away, but Carol replaced the entire tent in a couple of days with no quibble, and I fully expect it will outlast me.

    Great customer service, superb tents.

    • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      thanks for the comments David. Sounds like you have a fair amount of experience with Lightwave tents and equally like myself think they are pretty good in seriously bad weather.

      • Lance says:

        Good to see the blog is still alive and kicking. Last used my T10 in June. I tried to put my Six Moon Lunar up in vain on the North Yorkshire Moors. As luck would have it I had the T10 in the car so pitched that no problem. We were facing the tail end of a hurricane, no worries for the Lightwave. Looking forward to a snowy January in the Peak district. Hope you and all that look into the Blog have a happy new year.:-)

        • Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

          thanks Lance. Not much traffic on the blog but I am still active. Alas not much camping going on at the moment but just dont have the time – too many other hobbies! Still get out and about but its a split between 2 wheels and 2 feet with more being on the wheels! Have a good 2016!!!

Leave a Reply

