A little piece of tranquilty – this weekend’s camping destination…..

Well, the weather for the weekend is looking up. Sunny periods but coolish nights I think I can cope with. If the forecast for the weekend was unremitting rain I think I would cry. The reason the weather is more important than normal is that I am off camping with 4 kids tomorrow (2 are mine, 2 are their friends). You know that it is possibly the move of a madman when the parents of said other children look at you with pitying eyes when you describe what you are going to do…

“So you are taking 4 kids camping….in April…..halfway up a mountain….on your own….righhhhhhhht.”

The looks I have gotten are normally reserved for religious cold callers, politicians and Bear Grylls.

Still, I have planned my plans, I have bought the food, I have packed my kit. The best bit about the trip (I am hoping) is the destination. Ok, I am only heading for Blorenge mountain by Abergavenny which is well known to me. The thing that I am really keen to see and try out is a campsite that is a cross between a retreat, a wild camp and a campsite. Its called Middle Ninfa and nestles halfway up the flank of Blorenge.

The thing that is different about Middle Ninfa is that is a small campsite that prides itself on seclusion and the camping pitches are spread over a wide area in leafy glades and in the semi-wildness of the Blorenge hillside. It has solar showers, attending wild ponies, space, tranquility (albeit temporary until the kids explode from the car at least), a croquet lawn (!) and above all seclusion.

I’ll do a write up when I get back but I am really looking forward to this weekend. I hope it will deliver what I think will be a special time in a special place…

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A little piece of tranquilty – this weekend’s camping destination…..

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks Maria, weather looking better again today so far. Hoping kids wear themselves out so “Bear Grylls” can get some me-time in 🙂

  1. Diddy says:

    Have a good one mate :0)
    await some piccies..

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Its looks a super site and the position its in is brilliant so am hoping the kids give it the thumbs up. If so it could become a regular destination this summer

  2. Sounds like you should have great fun!

  3. benwildcountry says:

    Looks very nice. Any plans to go “packrafting”

  4. Bob andrews says:

    Hope all goes well. Looks like an interesting site for a base. Since starting backpacking and wild camps, formal camps no longer appeal.

    Hoped to go out this w/e canoeing with a wild camp up on Llyn Brianne but a knee problem has reoccurred – bummer.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      sorry to hear about the knee Bob. Llyn Brianne is a very nice spot…

      The site is definitely not “formal” and the owner has managed to get the balance right so far. I will be back for more, thats for certain

Leave a Reply

