The eleventh New Year’s Resolution…..

Yes, a bit late for making new resolutions but I thought I would tag this one onto the back of the others I did at the start of the year. Its not outdoor related but is a subject dear to my heart. Having been ripped off by a garage last week I have vowed that this will be the last time!

I have made myself a promise that when and wherever possible I will attempt to fix the car myself (apart from blown head gaskets and similar)

Ok, so I should be doing this anyway but I got lulled into that false sense of security that tells you to take it to a garage cos its quick and painless. NO! It is not!!!

So in the spirit of this new resolution, I have started to fix the odds and sods that have plagued the car recently. I have changed the aerial mount and connections in the roof. I have ordered a new horn (dont say anything) and am patching up the hole in the door where the thieving gits forced the lock last year.

The already good news is that a job that the garage wanted £95 quid for (to change the aerial and connections), I have managed to do for £9 (you do have to love ebay and wiki answers sometimes). The horn was a tenner and if I manage to fit that ok its another £90 saving.

Of course it didnt all go smoothly this evening. I managed to remove half the roof liner trying to access the aerial mount before the internet told me to just remove the courtesy light (oops). I then dropped and lost the retaining bolt for the mount (sigh) but after half an hour of swearing and cannabalising an old bike, managed to find a replacement (phew).

So by my reckoning after doing the 2 main jobs, I will be nearly £180 better off (hurrah!). Is that a good enough excuse to go and get something for the outdoors? 😀

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The eleventh New Year’s Resolution…..

  1. Of course it is – what have you got in mind for your £180?

  2. Robin says:

    Well done very impressive. Perhaps you can give Sean’s car a makeover while you’re at it 🙂

  3. Ian Barton says:

    Well done and keep it up. I guess the Internet has made Haines Manuals redundant. If you fancy a challenge we have a Land Rover that needs a new head gasket. It’s one of those “I haven’t quite got round to it” jobs on my list.

    Ian.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      new head gasket? arrrrrrrg…..runs away in terror 🙂

    • Ian Barton says:

      Not really that complicated. However, it’s one of those jobs that would cost a lot in a garage, as you have to remove lots of bits first. This isn’t in itself complicated, but takes quite a long time, so would cost a lot in labour. The only bit of equipment you need, that the average person isn’t likely to have is a torque wrench. I could lend you mine if you want to have a go:)

Leave a Reply

