The forecast is pants so it must be a bank holiday……

So much for the good weather recently. Oh dont get me wrong I have been out about in it and its been great. BUT…..the bank holiday comes around and hey ho the forecast goes down the tubes. The Cosmos has a mean sense of humour sometimes! I am not sure why I get excited about bank holidays when you know the weather will turn and your beautifully manicured cucumber sandwiches will go soggy in the back garden.

Of course it doesnt stop you going for a walk in the hills. In fact sometimes a cooler, fresher bit of weather with a little bit of rain is quite nice in itself. Not sure if I am going to be able to get away for another overnighter (DIY list is lonnnnnnnnng) this weekend but I might get out for a walk without the risk of overheating! Of course the other reason for heading to the hills this (extended) weekend is to avoid all the claptrap regarding the jubilee. I escaped to mid Wales to avoid the royal wedding last year and I think I shall do the same for the jubilee (though not quite as far).

Bah humbug 🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The forecast is pants so it must be a bank holiday……

  1. Gemma says:

    Hi,
    Sorry this isn’t in the most relevant place.

    I’m involved with a charity walk around the edge of Wales, it’s over 1000 miles and will raise money for the Wales Air Ambulance and the RNLI. We have a website at http://www.walkaroundwales.com and are hoping that you might be interested in writing for it so that we can have some interesting content. You’ll be helping us and the charities a lot and of course we’ll link back to your site so you may even get a few new readers.

    We’re looking for any pieces about writing, maybe tips, stories about walks you’ve been on, general articles about walking or anything that you think might fit.

    Hope you’re interested,
    Thanks,
    Gemma Williams – walkaroundwales@gmail.com

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Always keen to help support charities Emma and I have raised money for my local MRT at Longtown through walking (as well as Mencap separately). Will drop you a line

      cheers, Dave

Leave a Reply

