1/2 year update……

Its now July (bought looking out of the window, you might be forgiven for thinking it early spring).

A half of the year gone by and so time to go over my personal camping targets from the start of the year.

  • Have at least 20 nights out in the hills (not impossible) – 6 😦
  • Visit Scotland for a walking trip this year (the tough one) – no. still not done 😦
  • Visit North Wales for a walking trip this year (already semi arrangedΒ :)) – Done and still reflecting on a great trip.
  • Visit the Lake District for a walking trip this year (more challenging but doable) – no 😦
  • Go on at least 3 β€œmeets” with friends (high on the priority list) – 2 down one to go (its all down to you Robin!)
  • Keep the blog up to date! (minimum 1 entry per week) – well on track and happy with progress, not too many long gaps but finding it tough on times with the new role….
  • Take the kids camping at least 5 times this year (an easy one) – 3 down and another one in the next few weeks planned! πŸ™‚
  • Cost neutral gear buying for 2012 (never buy more than I sell) – actually well in the positive despite buying the Laser Competition 2012!
  • Do at least 1 bothy trip (more if possible) – not done
  • Do at least 3 tarp trips (relatively easy) – one down, 2 more might be harder!
  • Increase and improve the number of pictures I take (dont forget the camera) – Very happy with the quantity and quality although I still forget to post some on here

Half the year gone and a reasonable effort. I reckon I might get 8 out of 10 by the end of the year. The Scotland trip might be the hardest of the targets to get but lets see what happens in the next couple of months. Still good to reflect on my targets and even if I fall a bit short I am enjoying the experience. If I can reflect back on the year when the 31st December comes along and feel satisfied with my efforts then I’ll be happy.

Bring on the “summer”…… πŸ™‚

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1/2 year update……

  1. I think you’re doing very well there – I took my target list off my blog when I broke my ankle πŸ™‚

  2. alan.sloman says:

    I have never given myself targets for things I enjoy – I had enough targets to think about when at work! But an admirable bash so far this year, it has to be said – especially so after your new role at work.
    Well done fella
    I would fit the trip to Scotland in and bin the Lakes…
    πŸ™‚

  3. PhilR says:

    I had a list of things I wanted to do which I have now given up on, although saying that I have ticked off a few of the items, one of the outstanding items which I’m not giving up on is to take the kids out for a wild camp, also still hopefull of doing my local LDP the Ridgeway. Good luck with the remainder of your list. πŸ™‚

    • backpackbrewer says:

      taking my kids wildcamping was brilliant when i first did it. Nowadays my lad is not keen but my daughter wants to go again πŸ™‚

  4. Nick stubbs says:

    Those are some daunting goals that I personally could not get done in a year. But if you can(and I am sure you will) than all the power to ya.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I know I wont do them all but I do know that if I dont put pen to paper, my year will drift. What I dont want to do is get to the end of the year and tell myself I have been too busy to get out.

Leave a Reply

