Fenix HL30 – a quick update!

Well, I managed to test my new Fenix HL30 briefly tonight. I can announce that I am one happy chappy with its performance so far πŸ™‚

Yesterday I mentioned that I wasnt too sure that there was a noticeable difference between the 4 and the 45 lumen settings. Well after testing the headtorch properly in the garden tonight, I can report back that it was just a perception thing and that the two settings are different.

The 4 lumen setting is like a keyring light but more diffuse and actually not bad as a general purpose light. The 45 lumen obviously lights a bit better and is probably the setting I will use around the campsite. The 100 lumen setting is brighter again and the 200 lumen is really really bright. I probably wont use the 200 too often as it is a real drain on the batteries so for night-time walking the 100 lumen setting is the best bet.

So overall I am really pleased so far with the headtorch, all I need to do now is test it on a proper camping trip πŸ™‚

 

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in Gear, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fenix HL30 – a quick update!

  1. I owned a few Fenix torches and would say that they are really great.
    And this head torch looks really good too.
    I like its specification and its 200 lumens.
    And I’ve heard that some fenix torch’s lowest and the second brightness won’t be obvious when using new AA alkalinity batteries in the first few minutes due to its high voltage. But would be OK when using NiHM batteries.
    Hope you would know this too.
    Would be happy to see your thoughts after using this head torch in the camping trip.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I’ll post a full review on the headtorch when I can Bob. Thanks for the information re the batteries I thought it was me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

