Healthy Eating – Losing Weight – Walking better

6 months ago my doctor confirmed something I had suspected for a long time. It was still a bit of a shock. He took off his glasses and told me with sympathetic voice that I was fat. Well not exactly. He said that I was overweight and that my cholesterol was high. He gave me the ultimate choice to make…diet or pills. It was a toughie but in the end I went for the diet. Combined with that I needed to keep up the walking and in fact was one of the spurs to get a dog last month to help with general fitness.

So fast forward 6 months…I have lost 22 lbs, reduced my cholesterol and feel fitter than I have done for a long while. I am all for ultralight gear but it appears I have managed to ultralight myself! I havent finished yet and will keep going till I reach my target weight (another 9lbs). And it really has made a difference to my walking and so I am keen to keep it all going.

Barney the pup is a big help too 🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Healthy Eating – Losing Weight – Walking better

  1. Well done – it’s not easy losing weight! I put on quite a bit when I broke my ankle and have found it a slow process trying to get back to where I should be 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      well you will get there…you walk and you have dogs both seems to help with weight loss. I am doing much more regular walking now with Barney ie everyday
      havent eaten a chocolate bar for 3 months!

  2. sahfenn says:

    Good going! I think my dogs stop me being twice the size I am but another little thing that has helped is a Fitbit. I got one a few months ago and it’s helped me track how general health & activities effect my waistline. It’s also easier to set daily targets. I now know if I walk 10,000 steps a day I lose or maintain weight and if I don’t the opposite happens, one off long walks have less impact than I hoped. Probably because I normally follow those with takeaway 😉

    Summer Tomato’s website has some great info on LDL and HDL cholesterol and how to lower the first without compromising the second. I find the NHS advice a bit dated as it focuses on low fat diets which lower both.

    How’s the pup doing on her walkies? 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks for the information! At my latest check up I was told the cholesterol was down but not what the LDL and HDL levels were. i am going to try to find out.

      I am finding that daily walks combined with longer walks at the weekend is really good and much better than 1 or 2 really big walks a week. Walking is about all I really have time for at the moment which is just as well as I like doing them!

      Barney is walking really well and we have started training him off the lead with a whistle and treats. So far so good and he’s not chased anything so we’ll see how he gets on 🙂

  3. David says:

    Well done – must take some willpower!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      the first few weeks were hard but as time has gone on I only get the briefest of cravings for chocolate and biscuits. Also my food tastes have changed and I find myself eating more fruit and enjoying it even more than normal.
      Still got another 9 lbs to go to hit target weight though….

  4. Robin says:

    Well done. Keep up the good work.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      At least there is an additional benefit……a lot of my outdoors clothes have gone from tight to just right 🙂

Leave a Reply

