Time flies when its Christmas…

Less than 2 weeks until Christmas and it’s snuck up on me. Well, that’s not strictly true as I have been busy with work and sorting stuff out ready for the festive period. So a quick catch up is in order.

First I have managed to find some trousers for general walking (not necessarily winter ones mind). A local supermarket had some cargo/combat type trousers in my (new) size for a tenner. They are very comfortable and hard wearing but not very heavy or “starchy” so am very pleased indeed. I have waterproof over-trousers so for all but the coldest days this should be fine.

Secondly I have ordered a couple of different coats for Barney and will try them all out to find the best style and fit. Thanks for all the suggestions, I’ll post with the results of the pooch catwalk at Christmas!

Thirdly Barney is now up to around 20 miles a week including a couple of 5 milers so am really pleased with his progress (and mine)

Lastly, I am approaching a big barrier…….11 stone. I have now been on my diet for 6 months and have gone from 13st 3lbs to 11st 2lbs. My target weight is 10st 10lbs by the end of the year which might be the toughest challenge of all but lets see what happens. All I know is that this weight loss have made my walking so much easier and more enjoyable and my general fitness has improved. When we talk about keeping our hiking baseweights down very rarely do we mention the biggest base weight element of all…ourselves. I am really looking forward to the Christmas break and a chance for an overnighter as well as generally going out and about next year.

So I still have a few posts to squeeze in before the end of the year. I need to update my 2012 resolution list achievement. I also want to do a favourite gear round-up and hopefully a few nice pictures to round off the year.

12 days and counting…….

 

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time flies when its Christmas…

  1. Robin says:

    Nut cutlets for Christmas lunch 😉

Leave a Reply

