January…..the nothing month?

SO here we are in January. I often find it a bit of an odd month. Its the anticlimax to Christmas. Also too far away from spring and not very light in the evenings and mornings. I have to admit, I struggle to motivate myself during this month. February and March are much better months for me as they give more light and still provide the crisp mornings and good visibility for hill walks. So what to do?

To pep up January a bit I have committed to getting a new road bike which should help me with my fitness and provide an alternative when I cant get my hill fix. Also I have found that route planning bike rides around mountain areas can be as much fun as planning walks :). The downside is that it has opened up a whole new avenue of potential gear purchases! Still, I have got a great Beacons ride all mapped out and cant wait to have a go, assuming I can cycle more than the odd mile.

All I have to do now is actually get out there……

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to January…..the nothing month?

  1. Bob Andrews says:

    The nothing month? You still have the weekends and with Barney!

    Beware the bike! I had a knee problem in 2012 but found that cycling was fine. Long story short, I bought one and now mad keen on biking and sadly started buying (well santa did) gear such as computer, pannier rack, pannier bags and hefty pump.

    Loads of bike trails about including the Brecon area. I bought a hybrid bike – good service from Evans Bikes in Cardiff.

    Also now a volunteer with Sustrans.

    Enjoy

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks Bob. I have a hybrid bike for mucky trails but the bike I am getting at the weekend is a road bike. You know, thin tyres and a saddle like cheese wire 🙂

  2. Matt C says:

    I do hope we’re not going to see you in lycra….? 😦

  3. charles says:

    Whats all this about bikes ! Just think if you still had your Soulo you could be freezing up on the hills now , and enjoying the long dark and dismal evenings ,with the wind rattling around the eves.
    But at least knowing you had a bombproof tent. Seriously though , I still have my old racing cycle.
    Does’nt get much use now ( an age thing ) and most of the old country lanes around here ( north Essex) have been upgraded in the name of progress. At times I quite envy you lads further up
    country. Much easier to get to the places you want to be.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      The route I have plotted for a bike ride from my house up to within a spit of Pen y Fan is 50 miles and stunning 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Charles,

      if I still had the Soulo I wouldnt be able to afford a new bike 🙂

      Am quite looking forward to doing some “serious” cycling. My theory is that when I cant get out on the hills I can always jump on the bike for an hour so its a good balance of getting out and about

  4. Ian Barton says:

    Great stuff. I am lucky to live somewhere I can cycle from home on quiet roads. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to cycle 1,000km per month. That’s nothing like as hard as it sounds:) I cycle on average 5 days per week. So if I can manage 25 days per month, that’s 40km per ride. in “real money” that’s 25 miles, which equates to about 2hrs riding. It’s harder at this time of year when daylight is limited, as I don’t like cycling n the dark.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Sounds a very good target. I will be aiming for around half that say 400-500km a month and it will take time for me to work my way up to that target. Walking fitness isnt the same as cycling fitness…not quite. I dont mind cycling in the dark as long as its not raining! 🙂

  5. PhilR says:

    Really got into cycling myself in the last 6 months, so much so I have joined my local club and now doing plenty of sportives. In fact I have signed up for the Etape Eryri in June, mountains and cycling in one. The route you have planned in the Beacons is it all road? I was thinking of doing something similar.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Glad you are getting into the cycling thing Phil, my wife is the secretary for her local bike club and its a real sociable thing for her. Sounds great re the Etape, we are going to the South of France for a bit of scenery too this year although it will be the wife doing the cycling 🙂
      The beacons route is all road and good road at that

  6. Ian Barton says:

    If anyone fancies a ride in the Peak, I have just discovered the Peak Epic at http://www.peakepic.co.uk/ I certainly don’t fancy the full Epic at 100 miles and 4000m ascent. However, there are a couple of lesser alternatives. I have done a very similar route to the Mini Epic at 60km and 1250m ascent., which should be within most people’s capabilities. Good camping possibilities at various places around the route.

Leave a Reply

