Cycling miles not walking miles

This last week has seen me get out and about quite a bit. A couple of short walks with the kids and the dog but actually the bulk of my outdoor time has been on the bike. The snow didnt allow me to do much 2 weeks ago but the past week has been a bit kinder. I had bought the bike but now needed to make use of it!

So my first long bike ride in quite a few years consisted of my better half dragging my sorry behind around the Wye Valley for nearly 40miles. The snow had almost gone but it was still cold and there was white on the higher ground. Not quite the Swiss Alps but for me a very nice route. I managed to finish it and do 2000feet of climbing so was quite pleased. A few days later I found myself cycling 20-odd miles around the Severn Estuary levels buffeted by high winds and rain. Envigorating isnt the word for it! Still I managed to finish it and still walk afterwards πŸ™‚

I dont think the road cycling will replace the walking, but for sheer high energy exercise and a quick way to get out and about, its a new dimension. Add in the fact that big distances can be covered and there are opportunities to get within striking distance of quite a number of hills and its definitely an interesting option. I have even looked at longer bike rides around Wales for when I get fitter.

Just hope this doesnt turn into another money pit πŸ˜€

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cycling miles not walking miles

  1. Simo says:

    Are you going to keep the two separate or are you going to try bike packing? In the absence of a reliable motor I’m planning on giving it a go this year.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Simo,

      funnily enough was contemplating do a bit of bike packing sometime this year, I used to do it alot in my teens and loved it. I quite fancy doing North to South Wales in the summer over 3 days and use panniers for my kit rather than do B+Bs.
      Bike packing is a different proposition to normal road biking so I would have to try it out to make sure I can still lug the extra weight up hills!

  2. Bob andrews says:

    I did try to warn you.

  3. Ian Barton says:

    I did my first bike packing trip last Autumn. The weight wasn’t a problem. All my gear, except food and water only weighs about 5kg. I just got some inexpensive panniers and a rack from GoOutdoors. Just make sure you don’t buy large panniers, or you will end up filling them up!

    I am hoping to do Aberystwyth to home in the Spring, via Shrewsbury. Should take three days.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks for the info Ian. Good advice re the panniers. i have to make sure they’ll fit my road bike ie the rack but am sure I can find some to fit

      I really fancy doing the A470 all the way from Llandudno down to Merthyr and then pick up local roads to home.

  4. PhilR says:

    Nice one 2,000ft in 40 miles is pretty good. How was the new bike? Noticed your comennt above the trip along the A470 sounds like a great idea, hope you get to do it. I have also been looking at Wales, planning a weekend of hiking and biking, a wild camp trip to the Arans then back to the car and get on the bike and go on the circualr route to Lake Vyrnwy and back. Thankfully I’m back on the saddle this weeknd for the first time in 2 weeks after Manflu, doing one of the Chiltern Classic reliability rides.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      sounds a grand plan ther Phil. Lake Vyrnwy will be a great ride as from recollection the road hugs the lakeside for quite a distance and its a great area in general
      New bike is ok but having to get used to a hard saddle after years of a padded one!

  5. It’s true, you won’t have to worry about the extra weight, as long as you don’t carry too much. Getting smaller bags is the key… if you’re going to camp, make sure you bring a light tent. A really important thing is also to bring a flat repairing kit and a bike multitool… you never know what can happen on the road! I live in Canada and I’ve done several 3-4 days trips on my bike. Once, my seat pole broke and I had to do about 70 miles with a seat that was too low… I coudn’t walk at the end of the day!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Samuel,

      sounds painful re the seat! πŸ˜€

      I always take a kitchen sink where bikes are concerned. I once cycled 100miles to a campsite and on the way my chain broke! Luckily I had a linkage tool on me πŸ™‚

  6. ed says:

    Envigourating isnt the word for it.

    Quite – it isn’t a word at all!

Leave a Reply

