The Wye Valley in the Snow

The view towards Tintern Abbey and the rickety bridge!

As I alluded to in my last post, I have managed to get out for a few walks recently but they have been low level valley ones. The lure of the snow was an added incentive to get a bit of bimbling done. I chose The Wye Valley because its local and doesnt often get snow. It didnt disappoint and a walk through Tintern and Bigsweir proved cold, bright and picturesque.

The view from Bigsweir Bridge

Although the snow was on the wane by the time I managed to get to The Wye Valley there was just enough to give a lovely aspect to this special area. A couple of days later and I was pounding along the roads through the valley on my first major bike ride for a few years. Although by then the snow had reduced much more it was still lovely and a different way to view the valley.

P1000914

Something about the snow brings people out and it was great to see walkers, cyclists, joggers and canoeists all spending time in The Wye Valley. Sadly I havent had lots of time for any long walks recently so a few bimbles in the snow will have to do for now. I dont expect we will see any more snow this winter down here but if we do, I will make an effort to get a longer valley walk in.

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wye Valley in the Snow

  1. Richie says:

    A great place to visit at any time of year!
    I’m based just up the road in Chepstow and I spend a lot of time in this area. Whilst I didn’t manage to make it down the Valley in the recent snow, I do have some nice images of previous years snow falls.
    I recently lost a years content on my blog due to a database problem (OK, I accidentally deleted it with no back-up!), but your blog has inspired me to re-write my lost content over the next few weeks/months so thanks for that.
    Keep up the good work!
    Richie

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Richie,

      good to see another Monmouthshire-ite! Hope you get out and about and reblog walks from around the area. Everytime I think about it, I am so glad to live where I do. I am actually in Magor so only 10 miles away from you 🙂

  2. came through the wye valley on a lands end to JOG cycle – wanted to live there – still do. Is it a good place to live? – hope so, it is wonderful to look at. I am on my bike having a bit of a travel around the world and drawing up a where to live list when we are done. Warren

    • backpackbrewer says:

      good luck with the travelling around the world on your bike! 🙂

      Re living in the Wye Valley…its a really nice area. I am not quite in the Wye Valley but am only 10 miles from the start of it and the whole area around where I live (SE/E Monmouthshire) is lovely

Leave a Reply

