How many hobbies is too many?

Whilst perusing the apparent lack of time on my hands to do all the things I want to do, I was struck by the number of hobbies I do actually have. Of course this can be useful as varied hobbies with different requirements can be picked up and put down depending on the time of year, the weather and levels of fitness (or not). Some people have one or two hobbies and that becomes their “thing” or “thang” to quote the vernacular mode these days. Some people, like me, have a multitude of hobbies each vying with the other for time to be indulged. Most of the time, by happy chance rather than design, most of my hobbies compliment my busy and changeable life. Sometimes I have a good chunk of a day, nay even a weekend, to spend on a hobby whilst other times its only an hour or two. I am sure that most of my eclectic hobby mix is due to my personality…..constantly on the go, never sit still for too long, a human gadfly for sure.

Walking and camping – der, yes a given and been the mainstay of my life from an early age. A small break in my late 20’s and early 30’s with a rediscovered zeal in early middle age. Started way back when (seriously at 13) from who knows where as the parents never so much as looked at a tent. A happy youth spent wildcamping and occaisionally dragging my mates around the Brecon Beacons followed by a renaissance in the past 10 years.

Cycling – ditto above. Possibly I did much more cycling than walking/camping in my youth but a similar story with a break in the middle. Combined with camping (cycle-camping!) it formed the bedrock of most weekends from early teens up to college days. I still have fond memories of the Claude Butler touring bike, complete with Reynolds 531 tubing and alloy wheels, I saved so long for and rode for 20 years.

Books – ahhhhh, never stopped and continuing to amass them on shelves and book stands all over the house and in the loft. History, geography, archaeology, quasi-historical novels, sci-fi and fantasy all crammed onto my groaning bookshelves. Greatest memory was reading a copy of The Odyssey whilst sailing around the Aegean as a young man. A bibliophile forever.

Wargamming – yup, the Pete Pan hobby of many a middle aged man. Started in the 70’s and never grown out of. The competition/playing element has receded but the painting and collection of historical figures is still as strong as ever (like my loft joists holding up tons of metal figures)

Music – hobby or interest? Not sure but a music lover for life. 300 vinyl albums, 50 or so vinyl singles, 500 tapes and 500 cds all attest to time and money well spent. These days the music scene has changed with the advent of the internet and so even though its more accessbile than ever, it feels less personal if that makes sense? Music till I die…

The internet – can this be classed as a hobby? I guess so and one I do like to indulge in, whether it be browsing online shops for all the other hobbies I have (I know, I know….), writing blogs entries (again, der) or just info mooching. Dangerous timewaster on one hand but a portal of connectivity on the other.

Photography – not as much of a hobby as it used to be in my youth. Back in the day…I used to take a fully manual SLR 35mm camera with me everywhere I went whether cycling or walking. Taking pictures was a much more disciplined affair in those days as developing pictures was costly to a mere strip of a lad. These days its point and shoot and if it doesnt look right, point and shoot some more! Still, there is nothing more satisyfing than taking a superb picture in a superb location and saying to yourself, I was there and this is my record of that.

The dog – sometimes known as pooch othertimes as stinker but always loved and always a companion. Maybe hobby isnt the right way to discribe this relationship but he is part of what makes me tick these days and there are others for whom dogs and pets in general form big portions of their lives.

So, a rambling summary of the hobbies and interests that I indulge in when time allows. Probably not so very different to alot of people especially of that certain age. Not sure if its too many hobbies and normally they all sit within different pockets of opportunity. What I will say is that I cannot for the life of me understand why ANYONE can, and sometime do, say they are bored.

But that’s just me

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How many hobbies is too many?

  1. Kathleen says:

    Hi, I’ve been known to have a “few” hobbies as well – and yes, the internet does in fact count a hobby πŸ™‚ Over the years I’ve picked up sewing, reading (I’ve been gravitating towards biographies recently), running, video games, and writing. They don’t consume an equal amount of my time. I’m constantly shifting my focus between one or the other but these are activities that I’m sure I’ll continue to do.

    You’re absolutely right: how can anyone be bored with so many great things to do!

    -Kathleen

Leave a Reply

