My longest ride to date….but what a ride

image

I decided today to get up really early for a big ride around the Brecon Beacons. Turned out to be slightly longer and higher than originally planned though 🙂

I had thought about cycling from my house to Abergavenny and back, around 60 miles. However, the fact I was out of the house and on the bike just after 7 this morning and the promise of a glorious day persuaded me to push it a little further. In the end I did 86 miles and 5200 feet of climbing, taking in not only Abergavenny, but a mountain climb (up the side of the Blorenge), Crickhowell and Talybont. I even managed to have a breakfast in a great cafe in Talybont and was still home by lunchtime.

Mind you, to be fair, I am somewhat tired now 😀 Its all good training for the France cycling holiday in 3 weeks time and I hope to fit in a 100-miler sometime in the next few weeks too.

The picture above is of a small tarn called Keepers Pond at the top of what is known locally as “The Tumble” and forms a spur of the Blorenge plateau. And I have to say it was a killer of a climb but also an incredibly great feeling to get to the top of it. Mind you, the descent was fast…and a little scary 🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
Image | This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My longest ride to date….but what a ride

  1. That’s about double the length of the longest ride I’ve ever done – puts me to shame……! Bet it was great!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Its not the distance that counts but I must admit it was great to be able to see that much countryside from the saddle which is so much nicer than in a car 🙂

Leave a Reply

