The day after the cycle before!

Well, a quick update to say I did the 100 mile round trip from home to work and back again. And I survived……

Yesterday saw me up and out of the house just before 6am with a 50 mile ride ahead of me. I had plotted the route the night before and had to avoid the main dual carriageway between Newport and Ross-on-Wye. Well, I could have cycled on it but the thought of juggernauts passing me at 60mph didn’t fill me with confidence. Instead I chose the back way, a lovely ride up the Wye Valley and then across country from Monmouth to Ross. Ross to Ledbury then completed the rest of the ride. I had a fair headwind so even with 3500 ft of climbing to do, I managed the 50 miles in under 3 hours. I arrived at work at 08.45 with a slightly smug feeling because I beat other people living just minutes away πŸ™‚

http://app.strava.com/activities/61836201

The day in work soon passed and suddenly late afternoon was upon me and the thought of the ride home. The sun was out but the wind had picked up somewhat and apparently in my direction. Thus it was with weary legs I made my way back home, choosing a slightly different route to take in the top part of the Forest of Dean. I gritted my teeth and went up Yat Rock (Symonds Yat) which hurt and struggled against the headwind. As I neared home I realised my garmin bike gps had “lost” (ie not recorded) 5 miles of the ride. Because I had said I was going to do 100 miles and because of the sponsorship I had to add 5 more miles at the end of the ride! Pure pain 😦

http://app.strava.com/activities/61945128

Still I made it back (before dark!) and am now able to reflect on my biggest mileage in a day. The final stats for the day being:

100.4 miles total (106 if you include the miles not recorded by my gps)
6594 feet of climbing
6 hours 13 minutes of riding
16.3 mph average

So far I have raised Β£70 for St Michaels Hospice and would love to reach at least Β£100 (hint hint) πŸ™‚

http://www.justgiving.com/david-hollin1

Thoroughly enjoyed the challenge and will do something like that again….as long as its not raining!

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The day after the cycle before!

  1. Robin says:

    Well done. The Just Giving link doesn’t seem to work

  2. Mrs B says:

    Well done indeed! That’s defo commitment I know I c(w)ouldn’t do it!
    Massive e-pat on the back ^_^

  3. PhilR says:

    Well Done a great days cycling, and a very good avg over the two rides. The Strava links worked well talking of which would you mind if i started following you on Strava?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      by all means follow me on Strava Phil πŸ™‚

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Blimey, just checked out your stats for the year….! Puts mine to shame. Well done sir, your mileage and times are excellent!!!

      • PhilR says:

        Thanks, I do ride regulary with a club so that bumps up the mileage and also helps with times πŸ˜‰ Really got into cycling this last year much the same as you and as you have stated and found it has had an impact on the walking. However I’m off to the Rhinogs this weekend so looking forward to that.

        • backpackbrewer says:

          well I hope the weather in the Rhinogs is kinder to you than it was to me the last time I went! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

